Creamy Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sybil Smit
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I substituted sweet yellow onion for the red, and I added half a poblano chili, roasted and diced. I served this recipe with pasta and Italian sausage. A guest who generally avoids vegetables went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sybil Smit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was pretty tasty. I used about 5 fresh garden tomatoes, which watered it down quite a bit, but it was still good as a sauce over whole wheat spaghetti noodles. I could have thickened it up with some parmesan, but I wanted to save a few calories tonight. I enjoyed the corn in there (used frozen) and would have liked even more. Oh, I added a bunch of fresh basil during the end part of cooking time. And I used a whole sweet onion. Would have loved to use red, but I only had yellow on hand. Didn't add much salt at all- all those fresh veggies don't need it. Tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I made a few changes to suit our tastes and what fresh veggies we have right now. First I used both fresh tomatoes and fresh corn instead of canned. Also added about a 1/4 cup of water with 1/2 of a Knorr vegetable bullion cube dissolved and some fresh basil. Then put the entire sauce over pasta. Made for a very satisfying, fresh summer meal (and a way to use up that zuchinni!!!) Oh, and added some grated parm cheese on top too! Done this way, I rate the recipe a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I give the original recipe a 4 but with the suggestions made by other members and some variations I added it came out a 5!! I used it as a pasta sauce and used evaporated skim milk instead of the fattier ingredient and I thickened it up a bit with some cornstarch. I also added mushrooms, red pepper and oregano for more flavor. I will make this again, only next time I will add some spinach and more mushrooms. All in all it was a big crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Loved this dish. I put in lots of lemon pepper and garlic salt with a dash of pepper. Plenty of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was really good. I had some left over zucchini that I had roasted in the oven and that came out fine. I also don't cook in oil. I just spray the pan with cooking spray to cut down on the greasiness. And I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream, as that was all I had. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
i used 2% milk and it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yokota, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was pretty tasty. I had the first serving alone as a side dish, but the subsequent servings over pasta. I like it much better as a pasta sauce than as a side dish. Instead of the heavy cream, I used evaporated skim milk. This would be good with the addition of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
it looked nice, but the taste was not too good. Maybe something to make the sauce/cream thicker would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I thought this was a great dish . . . I varied on two ingredients and the result was great overall: in lieu of salt and pepper I added some "Greek" seasoning and some traditional Italian seasonings, as well, and I used the diced tomatoes that contain basil and oregano. A little time consuming, but well worth the wait! A great recipe that I'll fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States