Creamy Yukon Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Mmmmm, these were some gooood mashed potatoes! Hubs won't eat goat cheese, so cream cheese was an easy substitution. I used unpeeled, baby Yukon Golds and didn't measure the rest of the ingredients, just added them to taste along with salt and freshly ground pepper. The creaminess of the potatoes, made even creamier with the cream cheese, along with the fresh flavors of dill and chives made these irresistably delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I did not have chives or dill at home but I made them still and used whipped cream cheese instead of goat cheese, left the skins on, and whipped them with an electric hand mixer and they were the creamiest potatoes ever! No gravy needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Love these potatoes! I added a tablespoon more butter and some shredded cheese. Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pineville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent! These were very creamy as the recipe title states! I cut the recipe in half and since I didn't have goat cheese, light cream cheese fit the bill. I also lightened them up by using Land O Lakes light butter and skim milk. I added a little salt and pepper and loved the fresh dill and chives. This was the perfect accompaniment to breaded pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great! Used Parmasan and a touch of basil. My theory is that almost anything is better with Basil! So I skipped the dill...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I like creamy potatoes, my family likes them a little stiffer & thicker, I just cut down on the milk, drained most of the water, when I mashed them I left some little chunks, not hard, just something to bite on. My husband said his father would like these because they are kind "soupy". The flavor is ok, just don't add gravey or you have potatoe soup. Maybe I did something wrong & will try again. The picture they show is not the best! Looks a like a big glob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is one of our favorite potato recipes!!! I have used both chives and green onion and both work well. Super flavorful! Yay for some seriously tasty tatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Oh my goodness. I used cream cheese and added a few tablespoons of butter that I had sauted fresh garlic in. My usually ho-hum mashed potatos were transformed into something heavenly. The kids didn't even want gravy on them they were so good by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I really loved it, but my dad and my aunt only just like it and my mom said yeck, I hate goat cheese. So I guess this dish isn't quite for everyone, but for me, personally, I woulld give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I haven't made these yet but I can only imagine how good they will be with goat cheese. I'll bet if they didn't know it was goat cheese they would still eat it. GC is better for your gut than cream cheese and mixed with chives and dill you wouldn't be able to detect it. It would be super smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States