Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was really good, and so easy! I added too much wine though, so it was a bit overpowering...but that was totally my own fault. I also added garlic powder and some chopped artichoke hearts to go with the ravioli I made. I would make this again for sure, but not be as heavy handed on the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I didn't have cream, so I substituted milk and added 2 Tbsp of butter to thicken with the flour. It was a touch saltier than I'm used to, but still good. I only gave it four stars because I preferred it after I added some garlic, oregano, and basil, but it is very good as a base, at least, for a creamy wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
After following the directions to the letter, I made this a second time around. What I did differently this time was cook out the alcohol in the wine a little bit, then I added the flour, herbs and cream. It tasted much better than the first time I made it. I also added some Parmesan cheese and about a clove of chopped garlic. It tasted much better but next time I make this, I will probably use fresh herbs and leave the cheese out (unless I feel it could use it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe! I tweaked it a little by adding 3 tablespoons of marinara sauce and one jalapeno for some zest ... truly delicious with chicken breast & pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubblesbabbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Great Base! Changed it up a little by cooking chopped shallots and broccoli crowns in a pan for about 10 min. the last 2 min. I added a tablespoon oof chopped garlic. then I only put 1/2 cup of white wine and 2 cups half and hald (instead of whipping cream)I also added one chicken Bulon cube. after 5 Min I addded only 1and 1/2 tbps of flour and simmerd for another 5 min. The last five min once the sauce stated to thikcken I added 1/2 of shredded asigo cheese and It was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good basic recipse, but I have to agree with those that commented on too much salt. Being warned beforehand, I cut the salt down by half and it was still too much for our taste (and we generally don't mind things a little salty). I added some half and half and a dash of sugar to counteract it. The sugar hint is one I learned from my mother - it "calms down" saltiness if you overdo it. Just a a little bit at a time though (by taste) so the sauce doesn't become noticeably sweet. After these corrections it was very good over my seared scallops and linguine pasta! Oh, I also added a clove of garlic, minced - sauteed in the pan in olive oil before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was great rich sauce. Added sauteed garlic. One of my favorites for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I used fat free half & half. It turrned out perfect! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I did not care for this. Maybe I used the wrong wine. I used Chardona. Wanda H. Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a good easy sauce. My wife cannot have gluten, so for a gluten free option substitut the flour with corn starch, but make sure to use half of what it calls for in flour as corn starch thickens WAY more than flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States