Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Thank you Sal. Love the simplicity of the recipe. I added garlic and watered down the cream with a mix of water and milk (to assuage my guilt over the fat content) and added precooked cubed veggies and chicken. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Its a good basic sauce! Its a good base sauce to tweak to your likings and to pair other food with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this sauce to go with A Farewell To Basil Fettucine also from this site. I used a very dry white wine and only a pinch of salt. The sauce was a little thicker than I wanted so rather than add any more wine I used 2 or 3T of vegetable stock which I always have on hand. This went very well with the pasta. Thanks Octogurl83.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a good base sauce, but I found it to be very salty, however when I paired with lightly seasoned chicken the salt was not as strong. I will try this again with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Pretty good, but next time I would double the recipe. I added grated parmasan cheese to mkae it a thinker consistency. And I would do 2 parts cream to 1 part wine, the wine was a bit over powering (I used savignon blanc). Otherwise pretty good and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I was a little weary of the flour in this recipe, but decided to give it a shot. The sauce was ok, but I found the consistency to be a little gummy - which I blame on the flour. I will try this again, but with a little less wine and a couple dabs of butter so the sauce is creamy, but not gooey. Good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
From reading the past reviews I planed to edit this after I first tried it. I did not need to do so. Using a white wine that you really enjoy the taste off works very well. The taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The consistency of this sauce was very nice and after adding more spices to this sauce it was better, but for personal taste I did not like it. I think I just did not like the wine flavor, I honestly think it would be just fine without the wine and more spices. But I gave it 4 stars because my husband really did like it, the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
GREAT sauce! It has the consistency and creaminess of alfredo sauce with the slight bite of white wine. I made it with salmon and linguine and it was a hit. I added some sauteed garlic and basil and a little bit of lemon juice to the sauce to compliment the wine. I also cut the measurement down to six servings and it was enough for 1/2 lb salmon and 1 lb linguine. Sauce was also great with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Easy and tasty. I used it as a base and then added garlic, black pepper, and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States