Creamy White Layers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I use this as a base cake for a trifle. It held up well with all the toppings, and was a complementary flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The texture and firmness of this cake was nice, it did taste a bit floury to me but everyone else loved it. I found that when I mixed the flour & cream together, it became quite dry & stiff, I couldn't fold in the eggwhites, I had to really mix it. Also, it only filled one 10" cake pan, not two 9".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Not worth your time. This is too dense and no flavor. It is edible but not something that people say Wow to. I stored in fridge and it was really hard to cut through it. Not a moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is the perfect from-scratch cake. It has the best crumb of any I've yet tried. Also, the flavor is delicious, mild and blissfully free of that unfortunate cornbread flavor found in so many homemade cake recipes. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is exactly the kind of cake I was looking for. I omitted the Brandy and use Decorator's Frosting from AR.I used it for my daughter's 4th birthday cake. The little ones were not so excited since its different from regular box cake, but I loved it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love this cake!! I've made it with and without the Brandy, but it's a hit with family and friends every time I make it. I also use this cake with other fillings and toppings. One of the others my family and friends love, is when I make this with a lemon custard filling (another recipe I found on this site) and then I take some of the custard and fold in whipped cream for the frosting. It's a light but very tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
gummy, flat, nice flavor if you get past the first two strikes. not making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Dry (and cooked for less time than writted) and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
The cake with no frosing would be 4 stars. Light, excellent texture. The frosting knocked it down a bit. Those that said it was overly sweet must have used more of a buttercream frosting. The cake could probably use a full two cups of sugar and would still not be sweet enough. In fact, it probably doesn't need any frosting at all. Just top it with fruit mixed with sugar and it would be quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This cake was too sweet! It was also very dense and it was hard to cut into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States