Creamy White Layers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Very good cake-- firm but tender texture. It was a bit flatter than I had anticipated-- I might make two next time and have a four layer cake (but then again, the cake is dense enough that that might be a bit much). I made this with SPECIAL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING (also on this site), which was soooo yummy! Decorated with fresh strawberries, sliced lengthwise and arranged in groups of three to make simple flowers. To make superfine sugar for this recipe, put regular sugar in the blender on chop for 30 seconds or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
My best friend chose this out of 16 different kinds of cakes for her wedding. The wedding hasn't happened yet, but cake tastes great and is very moist, yet seems strong enough to hold up for the cake construction. Will be great with my raspebby and white chocolate ganche fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I tested about 6 recipes before I chose this one to make a huge 14 in 2-layer with a tiered 10 in on top. It was raved about!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! letthemeatcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Tried several cakes to make for my son's 1st b'day, and picked this. Its absolutely wonderful, really light and tasty. Easy to make too.Has a firm texture that will hold up decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love cake and this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I made this at the last minute after deciding to host an adult birthday party. I don't usually bake cakes as I've met with disaster before! But this recipe was very straight-forward and the results are still being talked about among those who attended that gathering. It was described as denser than angel-food cake, but still light enough for seconds. The whipped cream was perfect, as were the fresh strawberries pressed lightly into the cream. Really, really tasty, easy, and bound to garner compliments for the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
wow, i made this cake tonight to see if it'd be good enough for my boyfriend's mothers birthday tomorrow, HELL YEAH! thanks for the great recipe! the cream makes all the difference, as i am not even a cake fan but i could easily devour this one on my own. :) this cake is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
An excellent cake!! I'm making it for a wedding cake. I compared this to a white cake box cake over several days time - this one stands better in layers, and has a less sweet flavor, which allows my lemon curd filling to be tasted better - it also tastes like wedding cake. the cake box cake tasted sweeter over time, which i personally like, however, opted for the wedding cake taste. As I said, it also stands very nice in layers, and has a good consistency of air in it. A very very nice white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
The basic cake recipe herein was perfect as written and I made no substitutions. Between the layers I put a mixed berry filling (one bag of Trader Joe's frozen mixed berries thawed and drained thoroughly then run through food processor, + 1 t vanilla + 1 T superfine sugar) and a layer of white chocolate cream cheese frosting (12 oz cream cheese, 1 1/2 stick unsalted butter, 11 oz white chocolate melted and cooled; blend all three together). Frosted the whole thing and it was the hit of the night (got reviews as good as my Gourmet chocolate cake). The texture was firm but not too dense as other reviewers felt. I think others may have been expecting angel food because of the egg whites, but it is far from it. Thanks for a great basic white cake recipe that will work with many frostings and fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This cake is soo good; tender and tasty. As per the author's suggestion (goes well with anything!): 3 extra tbs of cream due to my adding cocoa powder and coffee granules as I wanted to surprise my daughter who is a mocha and tiramisu lover; I used these layers with Tiramisu (this site by Suzanne) - simple, delectably matched, rich and creamy. I can't wait to try the recipe as is (cream and strawbs). Oh, I used self raising flour and scant 1/2 tsp baking powder. Thanks for sharing, Veruschka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States