Creamy White Layers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
I liked this cake and thought it was very moist. My husband hated it, but then he hates any cake that isn't his mother's chocolate tube cake. It was very quick and easy. Next time I make it I might add some lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
My best friend chose this out of 16 different kinds of cakes for her wedding. The wedding hasn't happened yet, but cake tastes great and is very moist, yet seems strong enough to hold up for the cake construction. Will be great with my raspebby and white chocolate ganche fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I tested about 6 recipes before I chose this one to make a huge 14 in 2-layer with a tiered 10 in on top. It was raved about!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! letthemeatcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Tried several cakes to make for my son's 1st b'day, and picked this. Its absolutely wonderful, really light and tasty. Easy to make too.Has a firm texture that will hold up decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Very good cake-- firm but tender texture. It was a bit flatter than I had anticipated-- I might make two next time and have a four layer cake (but then again, the cake is dense enough that that might be a bit much). I made this with SPECIAL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING (also on this site), which was soooo yummy! Decorated with fresh strawberries, sliced lengthwise and arranged in groups of three to make simple flowers. To make superfine sugar for this recipe, put regular sugar in the blender on chop for 30 seconds or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Didn't use superfine sugar because I couldn't find it. Just substituted the regular granulated stuff, and it turned out great anyway. It's a creamy, dense sort of cake. Very tasty. I frosted it with Lemon Cream Cheese frosting, and everyone came back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This cake was good. It wasn't as amazing as some of the reviews I read, though. I do not make cakes too often, so maybe next time I will perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I love cake and this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I made this at the last minute after deciding to host an adult birthday party. I don't usually bake cakes as I've met with disaster before! But this recipe was very straight-forward and the results are still being talked about among those who attended that gathering. It was described as denser than angel-food cake, but still light enough for seconds. The whipped cream was perfect, as were the fresh strawberries pressed lightly into the cream. Really, really tasty, easy, and bound to garner compliments for the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
An excellent all purpose white cake that i found performed perfectly as the base for a mousse cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States