Creamy White Layers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This cake is soo good; tender and tasty. As per the author's suggestion (goes well with anything!): 3 extra tbs of cream due to my adding cocoa powder and coffee granules as I wanted to surprise my daughter who is a mocha and tiramisu lover; I used these layers with Tiramisu (this site by Suzanne) - simple, delectably matched, rich and creamy. I can't wait to try the recipe as is (cream and strawbs). Oh, I used self raising flour and scant 1/2 tsp baking powder. Thanks for sharing, Veruschka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
The basic cake recipe herein was perfect as written and I made no substitutions. Between the layers I put a mixed berry filling (one bag of Trader Joe's frozen mixed berries thawed and drained thoroughly then run through food processor, + 1 t vanilla + 1 T superfine sugar) and a layer of white chocolate cream cheese frosting (12 oz cream cheese, 1 1/2 stick unsalted butter, 11 oz white chocolate melted and cooled; blend all three together). Frosted the whole thing and it was the hit of the night (got reviews as good as my Gourmet chocolate cake). The texture was firm but not too dense as other reviewers felt. I think others may have been expecting angel food because of the egg whites, but it is far from it. Thanks for a great basic white cake recipe that will work with many frostings and fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday and was a little bit disappointed. I liked the taste of the cake but not the texture. Perhaps I did something wrong but the texture of the cake reminded me of a shortcake, flavorful, but dense and somewhat dry. I added 1 cup of jimmies to the batter so perhaps that made a difference in the amount of moisture. Also, I did not have brandy so I substituted amaretto in the frosting. We originally bought fresh strawberries which was good, but because of the shortcake texture, we preferred it with the strawberries packed in syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
WOW!! I made cupcakes out of these. This is my one and only cake recipe from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This is an excellent cake recipe, it tastes so much better than boxed white cake! And as the others have said, it's rather dense, but not in a bad way. I've made this as a cake once and cupcakes once and today I'm making it again for a friend's birthday. The cake I made before with about half a cup of pureed strawberries added into the batter and that was excellent! The cake was pink and it really did taste like fresh strawberries. The second time, I added in lemon juice and that was great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This cake was a little denser than I would have liked but it had great flavor. I frosted it with Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting and served it as a birthday cake. It was one of the best homemade white cakes I've had but not the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
An excellent cake!! I'm making it for a wedding cake. I compared this to a white cake box cake over several days time - this one stands better in layers, and has a less sweet flavor, which allows my lemon curd filling to be tasted better - it also tastes like wedding cake. the cake box cake tasted sweeter over time, which i personally like, however, opted for the wedding cake taste. As I said, it also stands very nice in layers, and has a good consistency of air in it. A very very nice white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
wow, i made this cake tonight to see if it'd be good enough for my boyfriend's mothers birthday tomorrow, HELL YEAH! thanks for the great recipe! the cream makes all the difference, as i am not even a cake fan but i could easily devour this one on my own. :) this cake is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
An excellent all purpose white cake that i found performed perfectly as the base for a mousse cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I made this at the last minute after deciding to host an adult birthday party. I don't usually bake cakes as I've met with disaster before! But this recipe was very straight-forward and the results are still being talked about among those who attended that gathering. It was described as denser than angel-food cake, but still light enough for seconds. The whipped cream was perfect, as were the fresh strawberries pressed lightly into the cream. Really, really tasty, easy, and bound to garner compliments for the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States