Creamy White Layers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This recipe got rave reviews at a recent wedding shower. I cut the cake into four layers and replaced frosting with white chocolate mousse layering the mousse and fresh strawberries between each layer. The batter looked a bit thick, so I added more heavy cream. It turned out perfect, not to sweet or heavy, but light and moist and dense enough to hold up the four layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANTHEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Very flavorful, but I found it to be a little dry...although it could be something that I'm doing...all my cakes end up dry even if I follow the recipe to the T. But, as I said before, the flavor was wonderful! I'll definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I like more dense cakes, so I loved this one. I made it for my daughter's 5th birthday party. I used a cream cheese frosting. The kids and adults all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This cake was ok, but not great. It's quite dense and not too sweet. It does go terrifically with fresh strawberries, but there are much better white cakes out there. I can't see myself making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Found cake too dense and heavy, would be good with a light icing or fruit, but I made a b-day layer cake with just plain white icing and I found it boring. I will definatley use this recipe when I make a strawberry shortcake (we don't like shortcake), I think it would be lovely since it is so dense and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This was probably the most flavorful and moistest cake I've ever eaten in my life. I made it for my husband's 34th birthday and everyone agreed; it was like "an orgasm of the mouth". The combination of the brandy and fresh strawberries gave the cake a refreshing and unique flavor. I plan on making it again even though there is no special occasion coming up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This cake was one of the easiest and best cakes I've made. My family loved it! I used the regular pillsbury icing, though, because I was running short on time. Strawberries with the cake make it taste even better! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This was a good white cake. It was a little dense, I was hoping for a lighter cake, more like the box cakes. But my Mom loved, and declared it the best white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I Loved this cake! It is a perfect desert cake because it is a little denser then most sponges. I customised it by pouring over a lemon glaze and putting lemon curd as a filling, I iced it with lemon icing, and made it for a family desert, the next day it was polished off as breakfast! Plus even though it looks quite difficult, if I can make it as a 14 year old anyone can! I will be making this for a barbeque next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I have made this recipe twice now and got rave reviews each time. It has a dense texture, but is balanced out well with light whip cream frosting. I used raspberries. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States