Creamy Whipped Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I tried this because I had limited ingredients in the house. It turned out very waxy tasting and I didn't even use it on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I had a similar recipe but had lost it. This was pretty good. I think mine used all butter. If I were to make this again, I would subsitute the shortening with butter, I didn't enjoy the flavor as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This frosting was to thin and did not have a great flavor. I had to keep putting the cake back in the refrigerator so the frosting would be managable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coal Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I was looking for a recipe without regular milk as my friend is lactose intolerant. This recipe is a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This recipe was one that I decided to try because it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients in the house. Along with what other raters have to say, I found it quite waxy tasting when in the bowl, but when I tried it spread thinly on a cupcake, it tasted fine. I probably wouldn't be making it again, as there's nothing extraordinary about it and it just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polexia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband LOVES this frosting, I add a little more sugar and vanilla to give the flavor a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The only thing I did different was use Powdered Sugar instead of white sugar. It came out just like the whipped cream frosting I've had from bakeries. I WILL suggest the following: make sure you use butter and not margarine or spread. Also, really beat it well. It takes awhile for the evap milk to start setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry to give a bad review, but no matter what I tried from other reviewers--powdered sugar, extra vanilla, butter instead of margarine--it still turned out tasting like straight shortening. Very pretty frosting, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I needed a quick recipe to frost funfetti cupcakes and I didnt have 10x sugar, so I tried this...I used real butter, crisco, and imported vanilla and it tasted like eating lard...The only thing I could think of to make it have a taste was to pour near a whole package of jello raspberry jello in it...It did help, but I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The texture of this frosting was questionable. I didn't like the regular granulated sugar in it, because it made the frosting crunchy. I wish I'd tried powdered sugar. The frosting didn't really have much of a flavor, but it did have a waxy feel like one other comment stated. For flavor, I added a small box of orange jello mix and a couple extra tablespoons of evaporated milk. I did not understand why the butter, shortening, sugar and vanilla needed to be beaten/mixed for 8-10 minutes. This is excessive. It's not like I'm making a froth or whipping egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States