Creamy Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this with fresh lemon juice and Italian seasoning added to ingredients. Used my food processor, that made it perfectly creamy fast. I didn't drizzle oil; wasn't needed using processor. However this wasn't our favorite without adding sugar, and I wasn't shy about how much I added either. If I were going to use this in pasta salad; I wouldn't add as much. I suggest you add sugar by teaspoonfuls to taste, if desired. Will probably use a little less olive oil next time as well. With these changes will make again. Three stars as written...five stars with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I am relatively new at making my own dressings, and lately what I've come up with has been disappointing. After finding this recipe and trying it out, I am so pleased!! This was delicious. I followed some of the other reviewers' advice and only added 1/3 cup of oil. Next time I make it I want to try it with flax seed oil that I have in the fridge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This was delicious. I used lemon juice, extra garlic....served it over pasta, roasted veggies. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious. It's tangy! Everywhere it said use either/or, we just split the two things and used half of each. It's now a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet, however I plan to. I had to search "how to emulsify dressing" as I didn't quite understand the term. Which is why I'm reviewing in hopes this bit of info might help a few people. What you're essentially emulsifying is the vinegar/lemon juice with the oil. The emulsifying agent is the mustard (I suppose mayo would work but it seems to me mustard would be better). The key steps are to add the oil in slowly and gradually while whisking. This provides you control over the consistency of the dressing (more oil and you'll end up with custom mayonaise) and whisking aerates the mixture which is essential to emulsification. Shaking would also do the trick, but gives you no control over consistency. An emulsified dressing should only be kept for a week, refridgerated. Also, a tip on one of the tutorials was to toss/use the dressing only 15 minutes in advance. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Actually very easy. Modified some for taste on our end we used 1/2C red wine vinegar and 2 Tblsp. regular mustard (didn't have Dijon) and 2 Tblsp. Mayo. Added more garlic and garlic salt instead of regular salt. Added pinch of cayanne pepper to taste along with 1 tsp sugar. Used less than 1/2 C olive oil. Yum!!!!!!!!!!! Mixed in a 4C measuring cup. Easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorbino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temple City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
A good basic recipe...I used the oil, mayo, grainy mustard, all the fresh herbs from my garden, the vinegar and a shot of sesame oil and whizzed it up in the blender...Yum! Sublime....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I used the lemon juice version and it was fantastic on a shrimp pasta salad. It was a little too tangy, but I added Parmesan cheese to the salad and it balanced the lemon perfectly. Sprinkled the whole works with parsley, then had three helpings. Mmmm... this will be added to my core stock of recipes for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Amazing! I used mayo for my first attempt, but I'm very excited about trying it with Dijon. I used this vinaigrette for a pasta salad and there wasn't a noodle left in the bowl! Every person who tried it asked me how to make it. I added 2 extra cloves of garlic (my family loves garlic) and a teaspoon of Oregano for some color. This has become my go-to salad/pasta dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjduck85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I chose this dressing because I was in a pinch and I had all the ingredients. I used the mayonnaise and vinegar combination. I added very little salt. I liked the recipe for ease of preparation, but felt it lacked a bit in flavor. I think the addition of some herbs might be good here. This is a good base recipe that won't mask the flavor of the salad it's dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States