Creamy Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is the best onion soup ever. It taste like Outback's Creamy Onion Soup. Add alitte shredded cheese at the end and you're dining in the outback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is great as is, although I didn't ever use paprika. I also played with this a bit the second time I made it - sauteeing the onoins until they were quite dark and caramelized, and using vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (the dark onions added the fullness that was missing when I took out the chicken broth, I think. All in all, an easy onion soup recipe that can be adjusted to suit different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
We had an unexpected cold snap here in Texas & I had some vidalias so I tried this recipe out...it was a bit sweet (it's a subtle sweet not a sugary sweet) but it was sooo good. I used 3 very large vidalias, 2% milk & low sodium chicken broth & only 2 of the egg yolks (not sure what if anything they contributed...I couldn't taste the diff & next time will leave them out). I added a bit more hot sauce & garnished w/ sliced green onions instead of parsley. I topped it w/ some parmesan cheese but I don't know if that's the right kind of cheese...perhaps cheddar would be better. I simmered it in chicken broth longer than called for (hubby was working late & I simmered until he walked through the door...about 30/45 minutes) but I think that just broke the onions down more. I did not puree any of the soup & I don't think it really needed it. (maybe because the onions were simmered for so long). I had planned on hitting it w/ some brandy as suggested but forgot until it was too late to add it. I served this w/ garlic toast, which worked perfectly to counteract the sweetness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe and will make it again, I would however double the amount of onions that I used; I will probably use 1 or 2 white onion as the soup may get to sweet using all Vidalia’s. The onions that I used the first time would be what I consider medium size (about the size of a hardball). I like the idea in T.PROCTOR’S review of adding cognac – will try that next time also. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a wonderful, creamy soup. I added a little bit of cognac while I sauted the onions and I did do the extra step of blending about a third of the soup then adding it back. I will absolutely make this recipe again. It would be wonderful for entertaining. We had it as a meal with a spinach/strawberry salad (recipe on this site) and french bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This soup has a wonderful flavour. I omitted the eggs and found the texture to be perfect. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This soup was the star of a big dinner party (even the beef wellington took second seat) Cook the onions until well carmalized and use fresh paparika (smoked or roasted parika is best). To really bring out the flavor, add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of maderia or brandy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I have a recipe very similar to this. I don't add egg yolks or hot sauce to mine though. Another nice trick is to let it cool a bit and put it in a blender so that it truelly is a creamy soup then reheat. The look is more pleasing as well as the texture. When making for guests I make thin fried onion rings as a garnish for the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
WONDERFUL! i sauteed onions, removed them from the pan, then pureed onions in blender set it aside. added butter flour to make riox, then whisked in chicken stock and milk and added the puree back in. i only did this to have a smooth and creamier soup. didnt change the ingredients tho. this was supergood. ps. i also garnished with chedder, yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was very different, but very good, the hubby loved it, and I added a little bit of cheese in the center of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States