Creamy Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
We had an unexpected cold snap here in Texas & I had some vidalias so I tried this recipe out...it was a bit sweet (it's a subtle sweet not a sugary sweet) but it was sooo good. I used 3 very large vidalias, 2% milk & low sodium chicken broth & only 2 of the egg yolks (not sure what if anything they contributed...I couldn't taste the diff & next time will leave them out). I added a bit more hot sauce & garnished w/ sliced green onions instead of parsley. I topped it w/ some parmesan cheese but I don't know if that's the right kind of cheese...perhaps cheddar would be better. I simmered it in chicken broth longer than called for (hubby was working late & I simmered until he walked through the door...about 30/45 minutes) but I think that just broke the onions down more. I did not puree any of the soup & I don't think it really needed it. (maybe because the onions were simmered for so long). I had planned on hitting it w/ some brandy as suggested but forgot until it was too late to add it. I served this w/ garlic toast, which worked perfectly to counteract the sweetness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I just thought it was okay but my guy loves onions and really flipped over this - I added some sherry at the end. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was very tasty. Browning the onions was a nice touch. It enhanced the flavor a lot. I used 2% milk and found it to be great. I think the half and half would make it tooooo rich. Betty Russell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe and will make it again, I would however double the amount of onions that I used; I will probably use 1 or 2 white onion as the soup may get to sweet using all Vidalia’s. The onions that I used the first time would be what I consider medium size (about the size of a hardball). I like the idea in T.PROCTOR’S review of adding cognac – will try that next time also. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Very good. It's very sweet. I used 2 large onions because once I started chopping it seemed like that was enough. I didn't add the egg and it seemed fine. I also used the immersion blender to chop it up a bit. My husband thought it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a wonderful, creamy soup. I added a little bit of cognac while I sauted the onions and I did do the extra step of blending about a third of the soup then adding it back. I will absolutely make this recipe again. It would be wonderful for entertaining. We had it as a meal with a spinach/strawberry salad (recipe on this site) and french bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I used 2 very large regular onions, omitted the egg yolks, and used red pepper flakes instead of paprika. Also, I used a hand blender to puree it a little. This is a wonderfully warming and hearty soup, just perfect for a snowy day. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Perfect taste; I was sorry when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This soup was the star of a big dinner party (even the beef wellington took second seat) Cook the onions until well carmalized and use fresh paparika (smoked or roasted parika is best). To really bring out the flavor, add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of maderia or brandy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I made this with high expectations of being like the soup served at The Outback....needless to say, I was very disappointed. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States