Creamy Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Can I give this 10 stars? Wow! This is easy to fix, smooth to taste and so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Leaming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very creamy, decent flavor. Not my favorite but it is a nice recipe. A bit of time goes into preparing this. The jury is still out as to whether or not I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious, great alternitive to French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I thought this soup was just OK. For those who wonder, it DID NOT taste like Outbacks creamy onion soup. I tasted this without the eggs and it was very, very watery, but once I added them the soup was a great consistency. Flavorwise, this was very sweet, and the onion flavor was presented nicely, but I just wasn't crazy about it, and I know it's pyschological, but knowing there was eggs in it just bothered me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good doubled onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very easy and delicious! I followed the recommendations and left out the egg and it was still wonderful. I also used 2 cups beef bullion instead of the chicken broth to give it a really rich flavor and skim milk and half n half. The onions soaked up the flavor and just melted in my mouth. Oh so good! I served this with hot garlic cheese Texas toast. Thanks for a great way to warm up my day! Yummo! Definitely a keeper. Also tried topping with cheddar cheese...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
The onions smelled great when cooking and tasted good with the broth, but once the cream was added it got too sweet for my taste. I think in hindsight, I could have left the cream out and added some beef broth or more chicken broth for a broth based soup. I enjoyed making it and trying something new though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
as other reviewers suggested, I used beef broth, no egg and 2 tsp. sriracha sauce gave it a wonderful kick. the husband could not get enough. next time will make a double batch! Thanks for a great recipe and for all the great suggestions. 5 stars from us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This soup has a wonderful flavour. I omitted the eggs and found the texture to be perfect. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Excellent! I used beef broth instead of chicken, to make it more reminiscent of French onion soup. Very creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States