Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
So simple to make and very good. The only problem I had was cooking some of the vegetables too long. I was adding them to boiling water while I was still preparing them. Still is was spectacular stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great recipe! It came out great with 2% milk instead of cream and a little shredded cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This recipe is easy and very good. As with any recipe, we all tweek it to our own. So, I added some fresh mushrooms at the onion-butter cooking stage. Added extra paprika, salt and pepper and in the end I pureed about 1/3 of the soup to make it a little thicker and that way I was able to add quite a bit of the veggie stock you make with the potato broth. This is a scrumptous recipe and I will recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was to die for. Very high in fat but it was outragious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Very very very nice - I can believe I made something that tasted so good. Only comments: If you don't dislike black pepper triple the amount - it adds flavor and still doesnt overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Amazing and delicious soup!! Sometimes I'll add sliced, cooked, smoked sausage. Great recipe..thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
When making this recipe, I was in a hurry and didn't have cream at hand. I browned the veggies rather than cook them in water, added onions, doubled the flour and, because there was no broth, added some veggie boullion cubes. I added no water, but rather, used fat free milk for the whole thing. Added in some frozen brocolli, just for fun. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Great standard recipe for veggie stew to start and lots of room to add ingredients for your preferences. I don't believe you need the whole cream, I used 2% milk seemed a little overboard. You may need to add a little additional flour. I also added other veggies, beans, spices to this stew. Very satisfying..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was really good! After reading other reviews, I cooked the carrots and celery with the onions. I also added garlic to the butter and vegetables. I added much more paprika and pepper than were called for in the recipe, and it wasn't spicy at all. I also salted the water when I cooked the potatoes, which I diced. And I added some frozen peas toward the end of cooking for color. It was delicious, and I can't wait to tweak it again sometime with some cheese and other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States