Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
When making this recipe, I was in a hurry and didn't have cream at hand. I browned the veggies rather than cook them in water, added onions, doubled the flour and, because there was no broth, added some veggie boullion cubes. I added no water, but rather, used fat free milk for the whole thing. Added in some frozen brocolli, just for fun. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This recipe is easy and very good. As with any recipe, we all tweek it to our own. So, I added some fresh mushrooms at the onion-butter cooking stage. Added extra paprika, salt and pepper and in the end I pureed about 1/3 of the soup to make it a little thicker and that way I was able to add quite a bit of the veggie stock you make with the potato broth. This is a scrumptous recipe and I will recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was really good! After reading other reviews, I cooked the carrots and celery with the onions. I also added garlic to the butter and vegetables. I added much more paprika and pepper than were called for in the recipe, and it wasn't spicy at all. I also salted the water when I cooked the potatoes, which I diced. And I added some frozen peas toward the end of cooking for color. It was delicious, and I can't wait to tweak it again sometime with some cheese and other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Great standard recipe for veggie stew to start and lots of room to add ingredients for your preferences. I don't believe you need the whole cream, I used 2% milk seemed a little overboard. You may need to add a little additional flour. I also added other veggies, beans, spices to this stew. Very satisfying..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
A hearty, filling vegetarian stew that I have made several times. I usually use whole milk rather than cream since that is what I have on hand. Like others have mentioned, I find that it needs more spice to make it flavorful enough, so I generously double the paprika and am heavy handed with the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This soup was easy and a great hit with my family. First time I've ever made a cream-of-anything soup, and it turned out so well, I'm going to try other cream based soups. I didn't have any cream on hand, so instead of using cream and water, I used 2% milk for the liquid. Like the other posters, I added quite a lot more of the salt and pepper (about triple) than this recipe called for, but it was just right. I garnished with a small amount of shredded sharp cheddar when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't have high hopes for this, but it actually was pretty good. I do agree that it's a little bland--even after I upped the paprika to 2 tsp. I found that I should have sauteed the onions a little longer than 10 minutes, but if you are good at doing a fine dice (I'm not), then 10 minutes might be fine. Keep a careful eye on the potatoes, carrots and celery while boiling, so the potatoes don't get too mushy. (And try to dice the carrots small so they cook through.) I used white potatoes, which worked well. I think this might benefit from substituting chicken or vegetable broth for the water. I added a European seasoning called Vegeta that I like, and that perked the soup right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Yummyy!! The recipe is great. Substituted milk for cream and turned out perfect (just use less water and more milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
really good with afew tweeks.Add garlic when you saute the onions.Grill or broil slivers of great ham to add at the end.Oh and puree some of the potatoes for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I customized this a bit to my taste. Sauteed one onion, 2 carrots, and 1 1/2 stalk celery together in about 1 1/2 tbs butter with a couple shakes of pepper salt and garlic powder added 5 cubed potatoes 5 cups broth, basil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, paprika and some Mrs Dash...brought to a boil lowered to simmer covered and cooked for about 15 minutes(I diced potatoes very small) In small bowl I mixed together 1 can evaporated milk and 2 tbs cornstarch added to soup brought to a boil until thickened. YUMMY!!! I also didn't make as large of pot as the recipe makes cuz I'm the only person in my home who'll touch a potato. Good base recipe as listed but I would never cook the potatoes seperate throw it all in together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States