Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This recipe is easy and very good. As with any recipe, we all tweek it to our own. So, I added some fresh mushrooms at the onion-butter cooking stage. Added extra paprika, salt and pepper and in the end I pureed about 1/3 of the soup to make it a little thicker and that way I was able to add quite a bit of the veggie stock you make with the potato broth. This is a scrumptous recipe and I will recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was to die for. Very high in fat but it was outragious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Very very very nice - I can believe I made something that tasted so good. Only comments: If you don't dislike black pepper triple the amount - it adds flavor and still doesnt overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Amazing and delicious soup!! Sometimes I'll add sliced, cooked, smoked sausage. Great recipe..thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
When making this recipe, I was in a hurry and didn't have cream at hand. I browned the veggies rather than cook them in water, added onions, doubled the flour and, because there was no broth, added some veggie boullion cubes. I added no water, but rather, used fat free milk for the whole thing. Added in some frozen brocolli, just for fun. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
So simple to make and very good. The only problem I had was cooking some of the vegetables too long. I was adding them to boiling water while I was still preparing them. Still is was spectacular stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Great standard recipe for veggie stew to start and lots of room to add ingredients for your preferences. I don't believe you need the whole cream, I used 2% milk seemed a little overboard. You may need to add a little additional flour. I also added other veggies, beans, spices to this stew. Very satisfying..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great recipe! It came out great with 2% milk instead of cream and a little shredded cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I thought that the recipe was good, but not great. I will say, though, I subbed the cream for two percent milk, and contrary to what the others said, I found it not to be creamy enough. I will try it again with whole milk and I think that will make a good difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Really really good! We added more pepper than the recipe called for, and sprinkled lots of parmesan on top. We also substituted mushrooms for celery. Turned out fantastic. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States