Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I also added gruyere cheese. It was perfect, unfortunately my fondue pot didn't cooperate with me. It was either too hot or too cold, and then in all congealed. Still tasted great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've never even had fondue before so I wasn't sure how this was supposed to turn. It was a little thick, but the flavour was amazing, it was SO good. I made it for a party and everyone loved it. I just threw everything in a slow cooker and let it melt while I was making other stuff for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this for the first time for a birthday dinner with friends. My friends liked it and ate most of it, however I thought it was too grainy and was disappointed with its texture. Flavor was good, but I didn't care for the thickness or texture. Won't make this again. I am looking for a smoother cheese fondue recipe. Guess I will have to try it out before I serve it at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a staple in our house. Everyone from my husband to my 4-year-old loves it. The flavors taste better after it has warmed up for a while. I use half the seasonings because it is too spicy for my kids otherwise. Beware that the milk will curdle when you heat it up with the wine. I do not use a separate saucepan, I just pour the wine into the fondue pot and bring it to a boil. Then I reduce the heat, and add the cheese and milk. I've made it about 15 times over the last year and do not ever find it to be stringy or without flavor. There is never any leftover if I make it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed most of the advice from the reviews and I didn't care for this recipe. It did have a chalky texture and wasn't creamy enough for my idea of a fondue. But my brother said "it's not that bad". So 3 stars, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
All I can say is OMG. This is the best stuff. You have to let it simmer for a few minutes after you add the spices before the true flavor comes out, but when it does 8-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This fondue turned out great! My husband's grandmother gave us a fondue pot as a wedding gift, so we had her over for dinner to try it out for the first time. This recipe was a hit with all 3 of us. The only changes I made were to use a little less cayenne pepper (I wasn't sure if our guest likes spicy things) & added a little more milk to thin it out. Thanks so much...we'll definitely use this recipe again & again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Wow!!! My husband LOVES cheese...and he loves this fondue more than the Melting Pot's. We stick to the recipe...simmering the wine first like the others suggested. Lastly we serve with cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, bread (usually sour dough), and granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Based on other reviews, I started the fondue with about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, didn't add the milk and wine a the same time, used a squeeze of lemon to avoid stringiness, and added 8 oz. of Gruyere to the mix. I didn't include the onions or spinach (Dad isn't a fan), but it was still great. Served with steak, baked potato, and blanched broccoli and cauliflower. We dipped the veggies and steak into the fondue, and poured a bit on the potatoes - a cheese field day! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a winner at my fondue party, everyone loved this tasty yet simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States