Creamy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Very easy to make - and my picky niece loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
First of all, let me say that this was a DELICIOUS soup -- the spices were perfect and yummy. But since people had issues with the broccoli & zucchini, I decided to add them only at the last hour of cooking. This worked well for the zucchini, but not the broccoli, which turned a sickly color. So I think next time (and there will be a next time!) I will just eliminate the broccoli and add another zucchini. Thanks for this recipe, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2000
This is a wonderful soup. The best veggie soup I have ever made. Healthy and filling. Will definitely make again. It involves some chopping but once it's in the cooker you are home free. You will love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent - even hubby who hates veggies loved this one! The sweet potatoes were so flavorful. I've shared this with everyone I know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I cubed the potato instead of shredding it. I also added other veggies to the soup and when I pureed it, I left some veggies whole. I found this soup tasted better the second day. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I loved this but I made so many changes that I had to give it 4 stars. I only used the zucchini and sweet potato (omitted broccoli which didn't sound good and russet potatoes which I was out of). I doubled the cumin and shedded one of the sweet potatoes. I also used organic begetable broth instead of chicken. I used celery salt and a pinch of tumeric and coriander. I only added 1/2 cup milk and some fillini soup pasta. It was a hit and was very much like many of the soups we had in Jamaica and the Caribbean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made some adjustments and it turned out fine for us. I didn't use the white potatoes. Shredded one sweet potato and diced the other 2. I used 2t cumin, the recc amt of celery seed (would up it next time), used some coriander, and some curry. IMO, it still needed a lot of flavor. I cooked it at 3hrs on High and then an additional 30 minutes more after the addition to the milk. I think that the 8-10 hours on Low is WAY too long, especially for the broccoli, which was most likely the contributing factor to the bitterness that people were complaining about. I think that 3 hrs MAX on High should be plenty. I'll try it one more time because it was easy enough to make (prep took 20 minutes from start to finish) and nutritious with the variety of vegetables, but it wasn't one of DH's favorites. Picky 3yo DD ate it all, though, which warrants 4 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Much tastier and substantive than I expected. I replaced teh potatoes with 2 medium sweet potatoes. It was very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was pretty bland. We had to add salt and pepper at the table, and will try adding some shredded cheddar to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
this soup really lacked flavor. toss in some hot chili peppers, a tablespoon of salt, a tablespoon of sugar, a dash of cumin and it should be good to go. great selection of veggies, although didn't leave much room in my crockpot. goes well with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States