Creamy Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I made this dish using fresh steamed carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower instead of frozen vegetables, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I needed a quick veggie dish, and this one fit the bill perfectly! I used 2 packages of the veggies, and doubled everything accordingly. As per other reviewers, I used cream of broccoli soup and cheddar french fried onions. I don't think it matters what kind of cheese you use - I had mont. jack so I used that instead of cheddar. I seasoned the mixture with garlic salt and pepper. Next time I think I'll saute some finely chopped onion in butter and add that for extra flavor. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This was very good and a recipe to keep! I adjusted as suggested by others to use broccoli soup and also the cheese flavored onions. I used steamed fresh veggies (about 4 cups) since I am not a fan of frozen veggies. For additional taste, I added about 2 teaspoons dry Hidden Valley Fiesta Dip mix which gave it a bit more flavor. My husband really loved it (and he can sometimes be a bit picky on his vegetables). You could also use any type of veggie dip or sour cream chip dip instead of the sour cream for variation. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had to really fudge this recipe to suit the ingredients on hand when I realized the asparagus I had planned for dinner was no longer fresh but I didn't want just plain frozen veggies for a nice Sunday dinner. I used cream of broccoli soup, milk instead of sour cream and seasoned buttered bread crumbs for the onions. All in all it was still very, very good and we will certainly make it again, either this way or as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is wonderful. I used fresh vegetables that I steamed before adding them to the casserole. It is great reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My family started a tradition more then 3 years ago we call "Meatless Monday" as a way to save money and to try to get the kids to eat more veggie. I am always on the look for new recipes with ingredients that I am sure to have around the house. Like some of the other suggestions I used fresh broccoli and cauliflower and steamed them until slightly tender and left out the carrots due to the fact that I'm not very fond of cooked carrots :) I also added some famous essence to give it a bit more kick but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It was delicious and will make again with the possibility of adding something more like rice, pasta or makeing it a meat dish ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe was very bland. I followed it as directed and it left my tastebuds wondering if I was just eating cardboard. It needs something that will pack a punch, like sundried tomatoes or saffron seasoning. More than likely, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was an easy side dish to prepare and it was tasty. It wasn't out-of-this-world but it was good. I don't even think you need to cook the frozen veggies...just toss them with the other ingredients and throw in the oven. The crunchy french-fried onions on top were the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Good comfort food with a old-school, Junior-League casserole-y appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was very good. I doubled the recipe and used condensed broccoli cheese soup instead of cream of mushroom as the other have suggested. I used frozen veggies (California Mix, which contains all 3 veggies) and steamed them in a little water in the microwave for only 3 minutes before mixing them with the other ingredients and putting them in the oven. The veggies turned out well, not mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States