Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Love this recipe! A perfect winter soup. I crushed in two cloves of garlic and added a little garlic powder on top of that, then seasoned to taste. I also made it with half whole milk and half skim milk, but would make it again with only skim milk to make it low fat. I also added a can of cream style corn as one reviewer suggested. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
All my dinner guests loved this one..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This soup was wonderful, though I changed a couple things: I substitued the 2 cups of carrots for two cups of canned, drained corn. I also added 2 tsp herbes de provence, and used fresh parsley at the end, along with lots of pepper. That seemed to give it a well-rounded flavor. It was so satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Quick and easy. I initially made this 1 week ago and my family has asked for it twice since then. Wonderful flavour and not too busy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Great, easy recipe. I'm a 26 year old male, and I don't cook very often. Here, you just cut up some vegetables and throw them in a pot. This soup's thick, delicious, and vegetarian. Only complaint I have is that the dang store only sold celery in a bunch, and it just went bad in a fridge (I don't eat celery outside concoctions such as this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This soup was wonderful I made some changes like adding boneless chicken breast to it then just before thicking it I added a can of cream corn the whole family is just wild about this soup I just finished making a canner full for a big family supper oh and I cut back on the salt a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Wow! This is great tasting and low fat too! My family really like this one! The only request was to add sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY KAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Wow, this is so yummy. It is super comfort food. I sprinkled grated cheddar on each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Rettig
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was a good "cold winter's day" soup, yet it seemed to lack a little something. It may be that I would have preferred it to be thicker (which I could certainly do next time by mashing the potatoes up a bit). I think I also cut the veggies too large. I think it would have been better if I had cut up the veggies into smaller (corn size) pieces and maybe I'll think of additional veggies to add. I think I will make this again. I'll use more pepper than I did this time (pepper suits this dish well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This is the pefect vegetable chowder! It lacked a little taste at first but I just added some chili flakes, extra salt and garlic powder. heavenly and affordable. Definately a keeper. Yhank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States