Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Excellent recipe! I followed instructions exactly and was very pleased! Just a note on the broth, I only use boullion cubes not canned broth and it seems to taste so much better. Just be careful with the salt if you do it this way! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeanneBrockway
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Super easy and delicious!! I added fresh garlic as well as garlic powder, onion powder, and diced chicken. Very nice creamy texture. I will definetly be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I just tasted this soup now, and I was surprised how much I liked it! I'm usually not a big fan of soup, and had never made it much, but this was easy and delicious! I would def. reccomend it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was good, I followed others advice and added garlic but I think that was a mistake, and I really love garlic. The soup didn't thicken for me but I have trouble with cornstarch I think it should be allowed to simmer a while with the cornstarch in it. I made with cheddar bay biscuits from this site and they were a great easy compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
LOVELY THICK CREAMY CHOWDER.EVERYONE LOVED IT.I EVEN MY FRIEND WHO IS PICKY ENJOYED THIS ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I thought this soup was great. Only thing I did different was add garlic and some diced chicken. Nice flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Nice, simple steps and easy ingredients. I hate when there are things listed in a recipe that I can't find at the grocery store. Definitely need to add some garlic to it though for flavor. I also put in "celery seeds" seasonings. Great for a low-fat recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This chowder is absolutely wonderful. I come from New England and I adore clam chowder - but due to dietary restrictions, I've had to give it up. I honestly thought I'd never get to enjoy another bowl of chowder for the rest of my life, because what could possibly compare? But thanks to this recipe, no more worries! I added about 2 cloves garlic along with the onion, and put in about 1/2 tsp. of pepper rather than 1/8. But otherwise I didn't mess with the recipe. After 20 minutes of simmering, the potatoes were not nearly cooked through. So I covered the pan and let it go for about 10 more minutes. Excellent, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Really nice winter soup! I used a leek instead of the onion because I like really mild onion flavor. Also, I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I made the soup a little thicker by adding the water-constarch mixture before the milk and letting it boil for a while. I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Love this recipe! A perfect winter soup. I crushed in two cloves of garlic and added a little garlic powder on top of that, then seasoned to taste. I also made it with half whole milk and half skim milk, but would make it again with only skim milk to make it low fat. I also added a can of cream style corn as one reviewer suggested. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States