Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was so good! Really simple and straightforward. I added a little more salt and pepper and a can of white beans at the last minute to make it a complete meal. Will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this is a very tasty soup but the name is a little misleading - there isn't anything creamy about this soup unless you make it with milk and a roux to start (which i will do next time i make it!!) however the ranch dressing mix has a great flavor to it, without actually tasting like ranch dressing, if that makes sense. i added lots of other veggies (peas, broccoli, cauliflower, corn) and topped each bowl with some greated parm. i think a healthy amount of black pepper is a must, too. was a great warm-up on an early chilly night here in the northeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is my kid's favorite soup to eat. It's healthy, easy and versatile. I sometimes add a can of corn or creamed corn during the last 5 minutes of cooking. I have made this soup probably more than 50 times. It's a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fabulous recipe and a great soup for cold rainy days!!! I didn't change a thing and we all LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was good and easy, perfect for a weeknight meal with a fresh, hot loaf of bread. We only used 2 cups of milk (we prefer thicker chowder) and added a drained can of corn. Def going to add some minced garlic next time as it could use some punch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Omitted margarine, and just threw all veggies into the stock pot with chicken broth and let it boil until veggies were soft. I then added leftover ham and let them simmer on low for 20 mins or so before adding milk and cornstarch. This soup was good, but not my favorite way to make a chowder. I prefer the roux method better. But all in all this was still a nice meal on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
it was so easy. My 2 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is a good low fat chowder.I add either frozen corn or a can of cream style corn to mine.Both are really good.The corn just adds a little sweetness that we like.I've also used red potatoes and we thought they were good in it.I always serve this with cornbread and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We really, really didn't like this. Bland, thin, and generally unappetizing. Not sure why our perception of the dish is so different from so many others, but will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
**Needs some tweeking** My changes and additions were: added two chix breast (boiled and shredded), 1/8th tsp thyme, used two C Skim Milk, one C Evaporated Milk, omitted the water and the salt, and dumped in a can of creamed corn right before thickening... Next time I will definitely use two cans. As is written I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States