Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This chowder is absolutely wonderful. I come from New England and I adore clam chowder - but due to dietary restrictions, I've had to give it up. I honestly thought I'd never get to enjoy another bowl of chowder for the rest of my life, because what could possibly compare? But thanks to this recipe, no more worries! I added about 2 cloves garlic along with the onion, and put in about 1/2 tsp. of pepper rather than 1/8. But otherwise I didn't mess with the recipe. After 20 minutes of simmering, the potatoes were not nearly cooked through. So I covered the pan and let it go for about 10 more minutes. Excellent, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This soup was wonderful I made some changes like adding boneless chicken breast to it then just before thicking it I added a can of cream corn the whole family is just wild about this soup I just finished making a canner full for a big family supper oh and I cut back on the salt a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I added more vegetables and added 1 large can of evaporated skim milk plus 1 cup skim milk (instead of the 3 cups of milk). This was loved by the whole family, and with the extra vegetables, the "thickness" of the soup didn't bother anyone. The problem was there wasn't any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This is the pefect vegetable chowder! It lacked a little taste at first but I just added some chili flakes, extra salt and garlic powder. heavenly and affordable. Definately a keeper. Yhank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was a good "cold winter's day" soup, yet it seemed to lack a little something. It may be that I would have preferred it to be thicker (which I could certainly do next time by mashing the potatoes up a bit). I think I also cut the veggies too large. I think it would have been better if I had cut up the veggies into smaller (corn size) pieces and maybe I'll think of additional veggies to add. I think I will make this again. I'll use more pepper than I did this time (pepper suits this dish well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
My family loved this, but I found it a little too liquid-y. I was hoping it would be a little like the T.J.I Friday's Potato Soup, which is a good deal thicker and seasoned. Although the soup was good, I found the base too milky. Having said that though I'll certainly make it again. I served it with corn muffins. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Great creamy veggie soup, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this is a very tasty soup but the name is a little misleading - there isn't anything creamy about this soup unless you make it with milk and a roux to start (which i will do next time i make it!!) however the ranch dressing mix has a great flavor to it, without actually tasting like ranch dressing, if that makes sense. i added lots of other veggies (peas, broccoli, cauliflower, corn) and topped each bowl with some greated parm. i think a healthy amount of black pepper is a must, too. was a great warm-up on an early chilly night here in the northeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is my kid's favorite soup to eat. It's healthy, easy and versatile. I sometimes add a can of corn or creamed corn during the last 5 minutes of cooking. I have made this soup probably more than 50 times. It's a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Soup lacked a little flavor, but when I added a little garlic salt it really gave it a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States