Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
The recipe was good, but just not great. I stuck to the basics of the recipe. I left out the celery (which I hate) and added zucchini and yellow squash towards the end. I also added a little bit of white wine to the base. As others have mentioned, the cheese did turn out rather chunky, and I used cream cheese! I expected it would kind of blend in with everything else once it got hot enough, but that never seemed to happen. The vegetables were good, because they were just the right consistency--neither soggy nor super crunchy--although I felt I should've added the potatoes to the carrots sooner, because those took a while to cook on their own. All in all, the recipe was good, but again--it just wasn't great. It didn't have that something special to make my taste buds sing. I was a little surprised, because I love potatoes and all the veggies. I might make this again, but I'm just not sold on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I might have done something wrong, but the soup was not "chowder" texture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe! I had some left-over ham from the holidays that I wanted to use up, and I added about 1/2 a bag of left-over frozen corn I had and this made an amazingly good soup! I have never been good at homemade soup, but this turned out well! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I make this every year at least once! It is a must have in my house during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was very good... a little bland... I will season a little more next time. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Delicious...I used 5c. fat free/low sodium chix broth and 1 1/2c. fat free 1/2 and 1/2. I also used 1 tblspn. butter and 1 tblspn. evoo to sautee the veggies. I added onion, carrot and celery as stated, then added 4 baby reds cut into bite size. I added a bag of frozen broccoli/cauliflower mix, about 1c. frozen corn, and some leftover steamed green beans. Whatever I had, just made this chowder better. I did have to increase the H2O/cornstarch to thicken since I added more broth. Family loved it....even got my 15 month old to eat it up! Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I added cabbage and zuchinni. My family liked the soup very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I have made this about 5 times this winter - it is just delicious. I use home-made chicken stock and add a half can of evaporated milk (instead of whole cream milk). I also blend half the soup, so it comes out thick and creamy. Great for dipping your toast in! even my 17month old likes it (I just serve her the smooth bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
So very good! I added corn and some pre-cooked packaged chicken breast pieces. I also doubled the recipe. I will be taking this to our church meeting potluck.A real keeper here. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very tasty. I will go a little lighter on salt though. Other than than I didn't make any change to the recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States