Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Delicious! I love garlic and pepper so I added 3 cloves of minced garlic in with the onion and doubled the pepper. The only other change I made was to add chicken. I used boneless skinless breasts, which I broiled for 5 min on each side and then cubed and added about 5 minutes after the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a good recipe, but lacked some flavor. I garnished it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My only problem was that I didn't make enough. My toddler gobbled it up. I've never made chowder with cornstarch before. Is it me or does it have an aftertaste? In any event, I HAD to add mushrooms - which I will omit next time because it darkened the soup. :( For my toddler's portion, I added leftover bologna. I envision something like parsnip and definitely some creamed corn (not too much!) would be great additions. I confess I added hot sauce to it (I know, I know....lol) Other than those minor 'diversions', I made it as the recipe said (I even measured my carrots in the 2-cup scoop!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My whole family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't like the flavour of this soup very muc hat all, I followed the recipe to a T. I added additional veggies such as broccoli, peppers, and peas and I still wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. It is so tasty as it is, but also very versatile. For more flavor use 2 slices of bacon instead of margarine. To make it vegetarian use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and if you are vegan just drop the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
An awesome soup for when you're on a strict budget. I myself often add some garlic powder to spice things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I only made a couple of adjustments to this recipe, which is a first for me, since I change EVERYTHING...First and most importantly, I NEVER use margarine, I ONLY use butter...same fat content as margarine and margarine is one molecule away from being plastic! (in case you didn’t know), to that I added my own blend of seasonings including garlic powder and dried onion (hate the real stuff), onion powder and a bit of lemon pepper (use it in almost everything). Second, I wanted something a little more refined looking so I strained out some of the vegetables about 2 cups total and then I blended the rest of the soup using the potatoes from the blended soup to thicken instead of the cornstarch. The result was actually a very nicely colored light orange soup. I then added back in the reserved veggies, served this with homemade garlic bread (ok, really homemade garlic butter on fresh bread) and a garden salad (lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese and croutons). I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. My guests even took home the left over soup! **I have made this actually a couple of times since and have gotten rave reviews each time. This is an easy and inexpensive way to feed a crowd, and I love finding those kinds of deals :> **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Good, but will have to do something to thicken it up a little more for next time. Mine came out a tad too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this recipe. I make it all the time. Sometimes I'll add cooked chicken. I find that it comes out better if you let all of the vegetables cook much longer before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States