Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Quite delicious for such a low calorie creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Excellent soup for a cold winter night! We added 2 grilled chicken breasts, 2 cloves of garlic and a can of corn. I did add more pepper also, but did not add salt because I used "Better than Bouillon" Chicken Flavor which has sodium (plus we had grilled the chicken breasts with salt and pepper). I used part fat free half and half, heavy whipping cream and 2% milk. I'm not sure of the amounts as I just needed to use up the cream and half and half that I had in the fridge. As other reviewers suggested, I did mix the cornstarch with the milk, adding it at the same time as the parsley so it would simmer for a while longer to thicken. This was a very tasty comfort food soup that we will be making again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Delicious! I love garlic and pepper so I added 3 cloves of minced garlic in with the onion and doubled the pepper. The only other change I made was to add chicken. I used boneless skinless breasts, which I broiled for 5 min on each side and then cubed and added about 5 minutes after the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a good recipe, but lacked some flavor. I garnished it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My only problem was that I didn't make enough. My toddler gobbled it up. I've never made chowder with cornstarch before. Is it me or does it have an aftertaste? In any event, I HAD to add mushrooms - which I will omit next time because it darkened the soup. :( For my toddler's portion, I added leftover bologna. I envision something like parsnip and definitely some creamed corn (not too much!) would be great additions. I confess I added hot sauce to it (I know, I know....lol) Other than those minor 'diversions', I made it as the recipe said (I even measured my carrots in the 2-cup scoop!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My whole family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't like the flavour of this soup very muc hat all, I followed the recipe to a T. I added additional veggies such as broccoli, peppers, and peas and I still wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. It is so tasty as it is, but also very versatile. For more flavor use 2 slices of bacon instead of margarine. To make it vegetarian use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and if you are vegan just drop the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
An awesome soup for when you're on a strict budget. I myself often add some garlic powder to spice things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I only made a couple of adjustments to this recipe, which is a first for me, since I change EVERYTHING...First and most importantly, I NEVER use margarine, I ONLY use butter...same fat content as margarine and margarine is one molecule away from being plastic! (in case you didn’t know), to that I added my own blend of seasonings including garlic powder and dried onion (hate the real stuff), onion powder and a bit of lemon pepper (use it in almost everything). Second, I wanted something a little more refined looking so I strained out some of the vegetables about 2 cups total and then I blended the rest of the soup using the potatoes from the blended soup to thicken instead of the cornstarch. The result was actually a very nicely colored light orange soup. I then added back in the reserved veggies, served this with homemade garlic bread (ok, really homemade garlic butter on fresh bread) and a garden salad (lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese and croutons). I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. My guests even took home the left over soup! **I have made this actually a couple of times since and have gotten rave reviews each time. This is an easy and inexpensive way to feed a crowd, and I love finding those kinds of deals :> **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States