Creamy Vegan Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My husband is vegan and I make him hot chocolate and just usually substitute soy or rice milk for "regular" milk but I decided to try this as we love coconut milk recipes. We both LOVED it! Not too sweet but sweet enough, same for the chocolatyness. I just ran out of regular cocoa so I used Hershey's Special Dark instead. It turned out lovely! Thanks for sharing a delicious Vegan version of hot cocoa!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out great. I did make a few modifications (as any good chef might). Added cayenne pepper into the mix (to taste) and sea salt. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called for, maybe 2 tbsp. I enjoy my hot cocoa spicy and a little salty, the sugar just helps to round out the other two flavors. thanks for posting the recipe. never thought of using coconut milk and it it's a great alternative for those of us trying to steer clear of dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very delicious and it's a convenient recipe to have for the times I'm out of non-dairy milks. I added a little cinnamon schnapps for a kick. I will make this again but when I have non-dairy milk around, I will use it instead of water for the extra vitamins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like a mounds bar in a cup! If I could give this more stars I would! I'm not a vegan, but was looking for something that I could have in my lower carb and sugar plan. This is perfect! It's rich and creamy and a perfect blend of flavors. I substituted Truvia for the sugar (I used 2 pkts.) and just a dash of sea salt to enhance the flavor, but other than that followed the recipe. I can actually have a couple of cups of this a day without feeling guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! I have been dying for some good hot cocoa that is dairy free. The mixes that I found at the specialty stores just didn't come close to the regular dairy cocoa. But this was Heaven in a cup for me :) It's freezing cold outside and it's so nice to finally be able to sit down with some good hot cocoa!!! I didn't have any canned coconut milk on hand but I did have the So Delicious Coconut milk and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
First of all...LOVED IT!!!!!!! But I am not a vegan nor lactose intolerant so I did substitute evaporated milk for the water. Like someone else said, it's not terribly cocoa-y but still is wonderful and yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytoallgirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This hot cocoa had a very smooth flavor which I enjoyed! It was sugary, but no more than other recipes I've tried. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I REALLY wanted some hot cocoa and I didn't have any instant and I came across this recipe. I did not have any coconut milk so I used skim milk instead. I added everything else according to the recipe, except I added 2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I have to say...I absolutely loved it. Easy to make and very creamy! Perfect hot cocoa! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
As a person who cannot have dairy, this was quite a find.....and a delicious one at that! The combination of the vanilla and coconut is a perfect blend. Slighty sweet, but a great twist on traditional hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great idea. I thought about this after reading up on the Primal Blueprint, glad I found the recipe! I'm off dairy and used it with Starbuck's mocha powder I had. I just used it and the water and c. milk. Tasted great, just a little different consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States