Creamy Vegan Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! I have been dying for some good hot cocoa that is dairy free. The mixes that I found at the specialty stores just didn't come close to the regular dairy cocoa. But this was Heaven in a cup for me :) It's freezing cold outside and it's so nice to finally be able to sit down with some good hot cocoa!!! I didn't have any canned coconut milk on hand but I did have the So Delicious Coconut milk and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very delicious and it's a convenient recipe to have for the times I'm out of non-dairy milks. I added a little cinnamon schnapps for a kick. I will make this again but when I have non-dairy milk around, I will use it instead of water for the extra vitamins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My husband is vegan and I make him hot chocolate and just usually substitute soy or rice milk for "regular" milk but I decided to try this as we love coconut milk recipes. We both LOVED it! Not too sweet but sweet enough, same for the chocolatyness. I just ran out of regular cocoa so I used Hershey's Special Dark instead. It turned out lovely! Thanks for sharing a delicious Vegan version of hot cocoa!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out great. I did make a few modifications (as any good chef might). Added cayenne pepper into the mix (to taste) and sea salt. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called for, maybe 2 tbsp. I enjoy my hot cocoa spicy and a little salty, the sugar just helps to round out the other two flavors. thanks for posting the recipe. never thought of using coconut milk and it it's a great alternative for those of us trying to steer clear of dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
As a person who cannot have dairy, this was quite a find.....and a delicious one at that! The combination of the vanilla and coconut is a perfect blend. Slighty sweet, but a great twist on traditional hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great idea. I thought about this after reading up on the Primal Blueprint, glad I found the recipe! I'm off dairy and used it with Starbuck's mocha powder I had. I just used it and the water and c. milk. Tasted great, just a little different consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like a mounds bar in a cup! If I could give this more stars I would! I'm not a vegan, but was looking for something that I could have in my lower carb and sugar plan. This is perfect! It's rich and creamy and a perfect blend of flavors. I substituted Truvia for the sugar (I used 2 pkts.) and just a dash of sea salt to enhance the flavor, but other than that followed the recipe. I can actually have a couple of cups of this a day without feeling guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
First of all...LOVED IT!!!!!!! But I am not a vegan nor lactose intolerant so I did substitute evaporated milk for the water. Like someone else said, it's not terribly cocoa-y but still is wonderful and yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytoallgirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This hot cocoa had a very smooth flavor which I enjoyed! It was sugary, but no more than other recipes I've tried. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I REALLY wanted some hot cocoa and I didn't have any instant and I came across this recipe. I did not have any coconut milk so I used skim milk instead. I added everything else according to the recipe, except I added 2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I have to say...I absolutely loved it. Easy to make and very creamy! Perfect hot cocoa! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States