Creamy Vegan Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
It definitely didn't taste exactly like real hot cocoa, nor was it very creamy, but I have to say it was tasty nonetheless. I might substitute the water for some soy milk or add more coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
First of all...LOVED IT!!!!!!! But I am not a vegan nor lactose intolerant so I did substitute evaporated milk for the water. Like someone else said, it's not terribly cocoa-y but still is wonderful and yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytoallgirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My husband is vegan and I make him hot chocolate and just usually substitute soy or rice milk for "regular" milk but I decided to try this as we love coconut milk recipes. We both LOVED it! Not too sweet but sweet enough, same for the chocolatyness. I just ran out of regular cocoa so I used Hershey's Special Dark instead. It turned out lovely! Thanks for sharing a delicious Vegan version of hot cocoa!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I am not vegan; I had leftover coconut milk from another recipe and stumbled across this one looking for ways to use it up. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I found it rather sweet-- likely I could have doubled the water and made it into two servings. It's got quite a high fat and sugar content (although probably comparable to regular hot chocolate) so it is definitely a beverage to drink as an occasional treat. Aside from the too-sweetness I liked the flavour; I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This hot cocoa had a very smooth flavor which I enjoyed! It was sugary, but no more than other recipes I've tried. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It smelled fantastic, but the taste was just okay. I may try again and play with the ingredient amounts - less cinnamon and sugar, and more coconut milk next time. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was pretty good - I reduced the sugar by half and used light coconut milk. The result was tasty but seemed a little watered down - maybe a regular coconut milk would have helped make it "creamier". I know I'll make this again, but would probably use soy milk instead of water (or even regular milk, since we are not vegan), but I must say the subtle coconut, vanilla and cinnamon flavors work very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very delicious and it's a convenient recipe to have for the times I'm out of non-dairy milks. I added a little cinnamon schnapps for a kick. I will make this again but when I have non-dairy milk around, I will use it instead of water for the extra vitamins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I REALLY wanted some hot cocoa and I didn't have any instant and I came across this recipe. I did not have any coconut milk so I used skim milk instead. I added everything else according to the recipe, except I added 2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar. I have to say...I absolutely loved it. Easy to make and very creamy! Perfect hot cocoa! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like a mounds bar in a cup! If I could give this more stars I would! I'm not a vegan, but was looking for something that I could have in my lower carb and sugar plan. This is perfect! It's rich and creamy and a perfect blend of flavors. I substituted Truvia for the sugar (I used 2 pkts.) and just a dash of sea salt to enhance the flavor, but other than that followed the recipe. I can actually have a couple of cups of this a day without feeling guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States