Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Amazingly good. I did change the recipe a bit though. I used less water (about a cup and a 3/4) and used corn flour instead of regular (added a tablespoon more or so of that as well). I also cooked it in a crock pot, towards the last hour (cooked it on high for 6) I added some instant potato flakes, as I found it too watery. I also added some more spices at that time. In the end a pretty simple recipe, but amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I try to follow recipes but it's so hard to do as I'm told. I added broccoli and cauliflower chopped very small at the same time as the carrots. Then I diced 2 red potatoes, cooked them separately and blended them slightly before adding them. As far as spices are concerned, I added some cayenne and bay leaves plus a dash or two of red wine vinegar for balance. The result was very very yummy and I didn't really need flour thanks to the potatoes. My b/f and I are veggie so I'll add some good bread and wine; It's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I did make a couple of changes: one extra tablespoon of flour and one less cup of water. It tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
As a recent convert to the Vegan lifestyle it has not been easy to replace many of the comfort foods that I was raised on. Corn Chowder (or Chowda in my house) has always been a favorite of mine and this recipe is wonderful. My non-vegan family members ate it up and were shocked to see me doing the same . . . they were surprised to find that it was animal friendly!! Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Absolutely amazing!! I'm not a Vegan, but was invited on a "fast" with my church that prohibited foods that weren't on a Vegan diet. It was really hard, but this recipe really squashed a lot of those cravings I had for other foods. I used soy milk, and unless I were to taste chowders side by side, I could NOT tell that it used soy milk (and I don't even LIKE soy milk!). I strongly recommend this recipe to anyone, Vegan or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is very delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written and was very impressed with the flavor...so was my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I had to add a bit more flour though, as it would have been a little thin otherwise. Delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Absolutely amazing, according to my non-vegetarian girlfriend. She says its just as good as the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I did make a few small changes-mushrooms for celery and half the salt and pepper, but otherwise everything else was the same. This was very quick and easy and delicious. Both of my boys (1yr and 3yrs) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Thank you so much for the recipe. It is awesome!! We just added more veggies and seasonsing and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States