Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was so yummy! I've just became vegan about a month ago and I'm pretty much dragging my family along and this was something everyone enjoyed. When I make it again I will probably use less pepper, because it was quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANICOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is very delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written and was very impressed with the flavor...so was my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I loved this recipe. It was so yummy! My husband liked it too. I found it a bit watery but when I make it again, will just add a little less. A great starter or main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i followed this recipe exactly. i was hoping it would have had a thicker consistency, but it still had a pretty ok flavor. my boyfriend liked it a lot more than i did. i'm not sure if i'd make it again. but thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Only OK. Not a strong corn flavor at all, the dominant flavor is garlic. If I don't find a better recipe, next time I'll cut the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I had to add a bit more flour though, as it would have been a little thin otherwise. Delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Not bad. Spices are well blended. I did do something differently. I added more corn, (because it didn't look like there was enough for my tastes) and I used vegetable base instead of boullion. My soup never did thicken up so I used a trick my hubby learned in culinary art school. I added 1/2 cup of mashed potato flakes. Not bad. Good on a cold day like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunnySunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Tried this out, and based on the reviews, I cut the water down a bit, and added more flour. I also added potatoes in an attempt at creamy, but the result was more like corn soup. I also used rice milk instead of soy, so next time, I'll cut the water some more, and mash up the potatoes to get the creamy. However, this tasted fantastic, so there WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Amazingly good. I did change the recipe a bit though. I used less water (about a cup and a 3/4) and used corn flour instead of regular (added a tablespoon more or so of that as well). I also cooked it in a crock pot, towards the last hour (cooked it on high for 6) I added some instant potato flakes, as I found it too watery. I also added some more spices at that time. In the end a pretty simple recipe, but amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was okay, but I wasn't crazy about it. Didn't have the corn chowder flavour I was craving; pretty much just tastes like garlic and not much else. It's a decent soup but I'm still looking for a good corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States