Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A yummy, hearty, vegan soup! 4 stars because I changed a few things. Used Earth Balance Spread instead of olive oil for a more buttery flavor. Added a can of cream style corn at the end to enhance the corn flavor. I can't have chowder without potato...so I added about 2 cups, boiled. Will definitely be making this all fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I did make a few small changes-mushrooms for celery and half the salt and pepper, but otherwise everything else was the same. This was very quick and easy and delicious. Both of my boys (1yr and 3yrs) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Absolutely amazing!! I'm not a Vegan, but was invited on a "fast" with my church that prohibited foods that weren't on a Vegan diet. It was really hard, but this recipe really squashed a lot of those cravings I had for other foods. I used soy milk, and unless I were to taste chowders side by side, I could NOT tell that it used soy milk (and I don't even LIKE soy milk!). I strongly recommend this recipe to anyone, Vegan or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Absolutely amazing, according to my non-vegetarian girlfriend. She says its just as good as the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
When I first read this recipe I thought to myself, "What? No potatoes?" As a new vegan I find it important that meals are as hearty and satisfying as possible. So, with such a promising start, I eagerly set to work in the kitchen. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except after sauteeing all the veggies I added 2 cups veggie broth along w/ th potatoes and simmered that until they were fork tender. I then added 1 cup frozen corn and 1 can cream style corn and the rest of the spices. (I however, did not add the garlic clove.) It was delicious! 5*****'s after changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe was great!! Modifications I made: 1.cut down H2O to 1 3/4 cup 2. instead of 16 oz corn, I used 1 15oz can of corn and 2 15oz cans of cream corn 3. 4 cloves garlic 4. cut garlic powder to 1/2 tsp 5. cut salt to 1/4 tsp of 1/4 tsp garlic salt I also used Tbsp of dry instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up just a bit more.... This a warm tasty dish on a cold winter day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
way better than i expected. i thought, however, that i'd be more creamy, but it didn't matter to me after i tasted it. i'm sure a tad bit more milk and/or flour would solve that. next time i think i might try a bit more vegetables to the mixture. i definitely ended up with more soup(broth) than i did vegetables. my wife liked it. so, i'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
As a recent convert to the Vegan lifestyle it has not been easy to replace many of the comfort foods that I was raised on. Corn Chowder (or Chowda in my house) has always been a favorite of mine and this recipe is wonderful. My non-vegan family members ate it up and were shocked to see me doing the same . . . they were surprised to find that it was animal friendly!! Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I did make a couple of changes: one extra tablespoon of flour and one less cup of water. It tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was okay, but I wasn't crazy about it. Didn't have the corn chowder flavour I was craving; pretty much just tastes like garlic and not much else. It's a decent soup but I'm still looking for a good corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States