Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Truly amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe was really great especially considering how low calorie it is. I changed the veggies according to our tastes, left out the celery and added red bell pepper mushrooms and sweet potatoes. The one thing that nobody liked was the amount of black pepper. Next time I will use half or even a quarter the amount and let each person add pepper according to their own tastes. I also added a little potato flakes at the end to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe! I ended up adding more flour until I reached the desired consistancy and added a can of cream corn. Also, I added bay leaves and two medium sized potatoes. Was the most delicious corn chowder I have ever tasted and the fact that I used soy milk made it all the better! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe very flavorful I added roasted sweet potatoes it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Overall, I really liked this chowder. I did make a couple changes per other reviewers suggestions, and would make a change or so myself after making it. One, I added a cup of creamed corn to the other corn, and would do that again. Two, I added some arrowroot powder in addition to the flour to help thicken it up. Also, I used almond milk instead of soy and it came out just fine. In addition I just did salt/pepper and garlic powder to taste and no garlic clove. And oh yeah, I used veg. broth 2 1/2 cups...and I added about one large potato. Here are the changes I would make next time. I thought it tasted pretty strongly of carrots, so I would halve them or omit. I might also add a little soy creamer to add some more body. Other than that, its great. Definitely add potatoes though, they really make the dish hearty enough for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Doubled the Carrots and Flour. Also added Corn Starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very tasty. I found when I went to make it tahat I only had vanilla soy milk, so I just used regular milk and it was great. I didn't bother with two separate pans, but just sauteed the vegetables in the pot that I made the soup in. Also, I used my immersion blender at the end to blend some of the ingredients, which thickened the soup nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
this is so yummy! i'm not vegan, but my boyfriend is and we both loved this! i followed the recipe exactly, but used 3 cans of corn with water. i just dumped 2 cans into the water and then i pulsed the third can in the food processor before adding it. It really thickened up the soup while adding even more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Mine never thickened and so was more a thin soup than a chowder, but it was very, very good. I only used 1 1/2 cups of corn because that was all I had and it still came out tasting very much like corn (other reviewers have complained that there was not enough corn taste) - I just halved the spices. I also thought there was a bit too much oil. Very good for a cold day or a plain old cold. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
It was a little too spicy, so I'd halve the salt & pepper. Add more carrots or celery for substance, plus one box frozen kale and cubed tofu. I used skim milk and added a scoop of soy protein and ground flaxseed for a nutritional boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States