Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very tasty. I found when I went to make it tahat I only had vanilla soy milk, so I just used regular milk and it was great. I didn't bother with two separate pans, but just sauteed the vegetables in the pot that I made the soup in. Also, I used my immersion blender at the end to blend some of the ingredients, which thickened the soup nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
this is so yummy! i'm not vegan, but my boyfriend is and we both loved this! i followed the recipe exactly, but used 3 cans of corn with water. i just dumped 2 cans into the water and then i pulsed the third can in the food processor before adding it. It really thickened up the soup while adding even more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Mine never thickened and so was more a thin soup than a chowder, but it was very, very good. I only used 1 1/2 cups of corn because that was all I had and it still came out tasting very much like corn (other reviewers have complained that there was not enough corn taste) - I just halved the spices. I also thought there was a bit too much oil. Very good for a cold day or a plain old cold. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
It was a little too spicy, so I'd halve the salt & pepper. Add more carrots or celery for substance, plus one box frozen kale and cubed tofu. I used skim milk and added a scoop of soy protein and ground flaxseed for a nutritional boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Thank you so much for the recipe. It is awesome!! We just added more veggies and seasonsing and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I added potatoes as some other reviewers suggested. I think next time I'll chop the veggies a lil smaller and once they're tender, pulse them in the food processor to make it thicker, and then add the corn. I've never had corn chowder before, and I found this really yummy! One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My liquid never thickened, even after I added an extra tablespoon of flour. Regardless, the chowder was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I try to follow recipes but it's so hard to do as I'm told. I added broccoli and cauliflower chopped very small at the same time as the carrots. Then I diced 2 red potatoes, cooked them separately and blended them slightly before adding them. As far as spices are concerned, I added some cayenne and bay leaves plus a dash or two of red wine vinegar for balance. The result was very very yummy and I didn't really need flour thanks to the potatoes. My b/f and I are veggie so I'll add some good bread and wine; It's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious, flavour-full, simple and easy. I made this as written, adding a bay leaf and 6 baby potatoes in with the carrots and half-blending the final result with my immersion blender to make it into more of a chowder than a soup. My husband, who is allergic to dairy and not had a "cream of" soup in over a decade, raved and asked for it to become a regular. Great results for very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
A yummy, hearty, vegan soup! 4 stars because I changed a few things. Used Earth Balance Spread instead of olive oil for a more buttery flavor. Added a can of cream style corn at the end to enhance the corn flavor. I can't have chowder without potato...so I added about 2 cups, boiled. Will definitely be making this all fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States