Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This soup was really good!! I will make it again soon! Next time I will add more carrots, maybe potatoes, and a little cornstarch to thicken it up more. It was a little thin but flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was very good. Not incredible but worth making. We followed the recipe to the T and it was way too salty! Next time we will do half the salt and or all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
oh em gee.....this is the BEST soup I've ever had in my entire life!! The ONLY alteration I made was to add 1/4 barley because I needed to use it up. My husband was very surprised when I told him it was all vegan--he's as much a carnivore as a T-REX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very Good! I made it GLUTEN FREE and VEGAN by replacing the soy milk with Mimic Creme! It is a great replacement for any creme soups! It did the trick! :) Also I took my wand blender and pulsed it some to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I went to a vegan potluck pre-Thanksgiving dinner today, and this was a huge hit. I did make a couple of changes though: 1. I added potatoes. 2. I love garlic, so I actually added 5 small cloves in lieu of the garlic powder. 3. I don't like the idea of adding flour to the soup because it could cause clumping, so instead I made a roux in a separate sauce pan (the one I sauteed the veggies in), and then I added that to the soup. 4. Finally, I let the soup slowly cook and simmer for close to an hour while stirring frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was so good! I used more garlic and Better than Boullion, and it wasn't thick enough so I added some melted Earth Balance with extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very delicious. I added broccoli, (just because I wanted to use up what was in my fridge) I added twice as much celery and carrot, 5 cloves of garlic, and used 1/2 can of coconut milk, and about 3/4 cup of buttermilk instead of the 2 cups of soy milk. Also added potatos that I boiled and cubed. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Definitely cut back on the pepper next time but overall VERY yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added potatoes and turnip. I didnt have carrots or celery, so I omitted those ingredients. Very, very yummy!! Will definately be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome recipe! I made a few changes and it turned out great. I used 3 cups veggie broth instead of water and bouillion, added 1 can creamed corn with no added salt in addition to 1 ear fresh corn, added 1 chopped zucchini, 2 small red potatoes and instead of flour used about 1 cup of instant mashed potatoes. It came out thick and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States