Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added potatoes and turnip. I didnt have carrots or celery, so I omitted those ingredients. Very, very yummy!! Will definately be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome recipe! I made a few changes and it turned out great. I used 3 cups veggie broth instead of water and bouillion, added 1 can creamed corn with no added salt in addition to 1 ear fresh corn, added 1 chopped zucchini, 2 small red potatoes and instead of flour used about 1 cup of instant mashed potatoes. It came out thick and creamy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
As I was making this recipe I told my husband "way too much trouble", but when I tasted it, it was very good. It did not thicken to my taste so I did end up adding another tablespoon of flour PLUS 2 teaspoons of cornstarch dissolved in water. I also used only 2 cups of water and cut down on both the salt and pepper since the bouillon was salty. The flavor again, very good. The prep work was, in my opinion, too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
i was just browsing through vegan recipes and this caught my eye. I decided to try it. AWESOME this is one recipe i will make again and again! I gave some to my friend who hates anything soy and even he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I really did like this chowder. I made enough to feed 100 people for an event. Some of the kids at the event didn't like it because it was too peppery. I loved it though! Some of the adults did too. No potatoes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmila0807

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Pretty good, I think next time though I will use creamed corn along with real corn. Also, I used an olive oil margarine blend instead of oil and flour & started with a rue. then added aromatics and followed from there. Others might want to try that since they said things about it not being thick enough. I also used 2 red potatos and 2 extra garlic cloves. I can never follow directions, lol. I had the recipe & ingredients on front of me. Force of habit, I guess I felt like I was about to make a bisque. Either way, awesome and great new soup we'll be making. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very good. Since I am not vegan, I used chicken bouillon and skim milk (not soy). For the corn, I used frozen white corn and a part of a bag of mixed veggies. I blended a portion as well to thicken it, and that worked very well. It didn't thicken up as much as I'd like despite using two tablespoons of flour, but it was still very tasty and surprisingly filling. I will definitely make this again, the boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Like the other reviewers have said, this is a good base recipe, and a few embellishments to your taste will knock it out of the park. I added 2 potatoes (bit more water needed to cook), 3 tbsp diced red bell pepper, a small can of green chiles; and cumin, paprika & cayenne for spice. Might try throwing in a few mushrooms next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Good soup, not as creamy as I was expecting, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
delicious! I added red potatoes and a can of creamed corn to the recipe. Sometimes, I add crushed red pepper if I want to make is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States