Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Did not turn out like i had hoped. Constantly felt something was missing from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This has been great everytime I've made it at our Buddhist center in NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as is written; however, it didn't thicken up like I wanted it to, so I added arrowroot which really does the trick. Also, added a tablespoon of maple syrup as was suggested in another recipe I read. It'd delicious and with the addition of arrowroot, gluten free. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not bad with added potato, potato flakes (to thicken), fresh chopped jalapeno, cayenne, worchestire sauce, and extra garlic & corn. I also blended the soup slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This soup was really good!! I will make it again soon! Next time I will add more carrots, maybe potatoes, and a little cornstarch to thicken it up more. It was a little thin but flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was very good. Not incredible but worth making. We followed the recipe to the T and it was way too salty! Next time we will do half the salt and or all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
oh em gee.....this is the BEST soup I've ever had in my entire life!! The ONLY alteration I made was to add 1/4 barley because I needed to use it up. My husband was very surprised when I told him it was all vegan--he's as much a carnivore as a T-REX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very Good! I made it GLUTEN FREE and VEGAN by replacing the soy milk with Mimic Creme! It is a great replacement for any creme soups! It did the trick! :) Also I took my wand blender and pulsed it some to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I went to a vegan potluck pre-Thanksgiving dinner today, and this was a huge hit. I did make a couple of changes though: 1. I added potatoes. 2. I love garlic, so I actually added 5 small cloves in lieu of the garlic powder. 3. I don't like the idea of adding flour to the soup because it could cause clumping, so instead I made a roux in a separate sauce pan (the one I sauteed the veggies in), and then I added that to the soup. 4. Finally, I let the soup slowly cook and simmer for close to an hour while stirring frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was so good! I used more garlic and Better than Boullion, and it wasn't thick enough so I added some melted Earth Balance with extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States