Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My family never knew this was a vegan recipe. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Did not turn out like i had hoped. Constantly felt something was missing from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This has been great everytime I've made it at our Buddhist center in NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as is written; however, it didn't thicken up like I wanted it to, so I added arrowroot which really does the trick. Also, added a tablespoon of maple syrup as was suggested in another recipe I read. It'd delicious and with the addition of arrowroot, gluten free. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not bad with added potato, potato flakes (to thicken), fresh chopped jalapeno, cayenne, worchestire sauce, and extra garlic & corn. I also blended the soup slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This soup was really good!! I will make it again soon! Next time I will add more carrots, maybe potatoes, and a little cornstarch to thicken it up more. It was a little thin but flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was very good. Not incredible but worth making. We followed the recipe to the T and it was way too salty! Next time we will do half the salt and or all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
oh em gee.....this is the BEST soup I've ever had in my entire life!! The ONLY alteration I made was to add 1/4 barley because I needed to use it up. My husband was very surprised when I told him it was all vegan--he's as much a carnivore as a T-REX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very Good! I made it GLUTEN FREE and VEGAN by replacing the soy milk with Mimic Creme! It is a great replacement for any creme soups! It did the trick! :) Also I took my wand blender and pulsed it some to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I went to a vegan potluck pre-Thanksgiving dinner today, and this was a huge hit. I did make a couple of changes though: 1. I added potatoes. 2. I love garlic, so I actually added 5 small cloves in lieu of the garlic powder. 3. I don't like the idea of adding flour to the soup because it could cause clumping, so instead I made a roux in a separate sauce pan (the one I sauteed the veggies in), and then I added that to the soup. 4. Finally, I let the soup slowly cook and simmer for close to an hour while stirring frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States