Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very good, however if your not vegan try adding some bacon or for those that are vegan you could add some facon. Adds alittle more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb
Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
A good base for vegan corn chowder; I made mine gluten-free. I made several adjustments: 1) I doubled the amount of corn. 2) I cut the raw kernels from the corn cobs, then brought water and cobs to a boil while I choppped up the other veggies. Essentially, that makes a corn broth and helps sweeten the the soup--that's where I took my 2 1/2 cups water for the soup. I took out the corn cobs before I added the water to the veggies! 3) I added 2 small potatoes, finely chopped, to the celery and onion skillet mix. Because I didn't use the flour, I needed something else to thicken the soup--finely chopped potatoes worked great (a 1/4 c. of instant mashed potatoes would work, too) 4) I garnished with fresh cilantro and sliced green onions. I would make it again if I had many ears of corn to use up--not sure it would be as good with frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Awesome dish!! Very healthy alternative to the usual. This soup is very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious. I used veggie stock instead of water and bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved this. I took the suggestions from some of the other reviewers and made a couple modifications. I added 1/2 red pepper, about 1 C mushrooms (both chopped), 2 more cups of corn, 2 more cups of water. I used vegetable base rather than bouillon (and more of it since I added more water) and used mashed potato flakes instead of flour. It wasn't SUPER thick like some chowders but it was thick enough for my taste. I served this to a chowder loving, non-vegan friend of mine and she loved it too! Very very good - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I'm really liking the flavor. I did not make it vegan though (reg whole milk and chicken broth). I also followed other's advice and added bay leaves and sub'd potato flakes for the flour. I also added white wine after sauteeing the veggies. I know it's not really a fair assessment of the original recipe, but this was very good as I'm sure the original was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
yummy soup. used no-salt added veggie cubes. added 2 little red potatoes, with the carrots . at the very end I pureed about 2 cups of it and added it back. also...the baby dipped steamed broccoli in the pureed chowder and sucked it off...she loved it! we adults salted ours at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Delicious!!! Just perfect as is, or adding potatoes is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
perfect just the way it is. served as entree with bread .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It's a beautiful soup. I creamed a lot of the veggies in there after cooking (we think it improves the flavor). I added a fresh jalapeno and a potato. Doubled the garlic (don't you just hate people like me???? rating a recipe they changed....I get it....but....) I would make this again in a healthy heartbeat (don't you hate people like me who think they're funny? lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States