Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
We Wisconsinites are known for our frozen custard, and we like it rich! So instead of two eggs I used 1 egg and 3 egg yolks, and 1 T. of vanilla paste (has the little vanilla bean specks in it). Normally I temper the eggs separately as in traditional custards, but this method is a lot easier. If you have a candy thermometer, getting the mixture to as close to 180 degrees, being careful NOT to let it come to a boil, will produce the creamiest ice cream, as will care in not over churning. Proportions of milk, cream or half and half can vary so much in vanilla ice cream recipes, and this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
WOW! This is amazing! In the past, I have tried ice cream recipes, all of which have hardened once put in the freezer for storage. This recipe however, resulted in an ice cream which froze like any store bought ice cream, smooth and pliable. The flavor was also top notch! The only variation I made, was I added the seed of one vanilla bean into the custard mixture, as well as the vanilla extract. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Be careful while cooking this! You don't want to get impatient and end up curdling the milk. For best results, make sure you get the mixture really cold before processing it. I used a Cuisinart ice cream freezer and it was ready at soft-serve consistency in 25 minutes. I served this over "best brownies" which I found on this website. It was a PERFECT combination. Oh, and a brief note: The high butterfat in this recipe tends to dull the vanilla flavor so don't be afraid to add extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe to put in a 6 quart ice cream maker. It was wonderful. I also added blackberries. If you add berries make sure to mash them up beforehand or else they'll freeze into hard individual berries. The ice cream had a great texture and a nice custard flavor to it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I was looking for a good homemade vanilla ice cream that has cooked eggs in it, so I tried this one. The custard only yielded about a quarter of the ice cream tin, so I had to add tons of milk/half-half to get it to the fill line. I also put in 1/2 tsp. more of vanilla than the recipe stated and it still didn't have enough vanilla. I will try this recipe again, but using 2 T. instead of 2 1/4 tsp. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this recipe twice on Memorial Day to give my kids something fun to do in the kitchen. The first time I followed it to the tee and it was GREAT! The second time we decided to make Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream with it. We used 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. mint extract, some green food coloring then added 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips to the mixture half way through churning. This also turned out wonderful. My kids liked it so well that they said "I don't know why anyone buys ice cream at the store. This is way better and really easy." This also freezes like the really good ice cream (not hard as brick). I think that says it all and it is definitely a keeper. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is very good. I doubled the recipe for my 4 quart freezer (still didn't come all the way up to the fill line).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is the best ice cream ever. We have made it numerous times this summer and it comes out great. Store bought ice cream is blah compared to this. We use pure vanilla (5 tps) and it has such great vanilla taste! Everyone who has tried it has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Has become the base for all of my icecream flavors. Was a little afraid of the egg but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Have made this recipe several times now and it has turned out perfect every time. Very rich. Definitely a high-end taste. Only upgrade was to use vanilla paste (available from King Arthur Flour)in place of vanilla. It contains the vanilla seeds for the little black specks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States