Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made this icecream for my daughter's birthday party and it was a huge hit! It is well worth the time and effort. I'm going to serve this with a rich chocolate cake for Christmas Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Be careful while cooking this! You don't want to get impatient and end up curdling the milk. For best results, make sure you get the mixture really cold before processing it. I used a Cuisinart ice cream freezer and it was ready at soft-serve consistency in 25 minutes. I served this over "best brownies" which I found on this website. It was a PERFECT combination. Oh, and a brief note: The high butterfat in this recipe tends to dull the vanilla flavor so don't be afraid to add extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
By far the best ice cream recipe I've tried! Due to an ingredient shortage, I added 2 and 3/4 c. heavy cream and only 1 and 1/2 c. half and half. Insanely rich with the extra cream, but GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great ice cream. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very good!!I made this into chocolate by adding 2oz. of semi sweet chocolate chips after removing from stove. It came out GREAT. I plan to add 1 can of sliced peaches in tonights batch. !!Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeremyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I was looking for a good homemade vanilla ice cream that has cooked eggs in it, so I tried this one. The custard only yielded about a quarter of the ice cream tin, so I had to add tons of milk/half-half to get it to the fill line. I also put in 1/2 tsp. more of vanilla than the recipe stated and it still didn't have enough vanilla. I will try this recipe again, but using 2 T. instead of 2 1/4 tsp. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Rich and creamy. I loved it. This will be my recipe for homemade ice cream from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe to put in a 6 quart ice cream maker. It was wonderful. I also added blackberries. If you add berries make sure to mash them up beforehand or else they'll freeze into hard individual berries. The ice cream had a great texture and a nice custard flavor to it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
really really good and rich. chopped up 1/4 of a vanilla bean and added it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was by far the most delicious homemade ice cream I've ever made. It disappeared immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chambers, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States