Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This is a great custard style recipe, don't be afraid to add more vanilla though. I don't like things too "vanilla-y" and this recipe doesn't have enough even for my taste! Can't wait to experiment with different flavors and mix ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This ice cream was great and my kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I don't like the hard consistency that homemade ice creams are notorious for, so I added 1 TABLESPOON of pure vanilla extract which contains alcohol. This also added extra vanilla flavor. Instead of real eggs, I used egg substitute since that's what I had on hand. Once the ice cream had ripened in the freezer overnight, it was still creamy. I also used this as a base for cookies n' cream and blueberry cheesecake ice cream. UPDATE: I've made this a few times more, and in addition to the vanilla extract, I've also added 2 teaspoons of vodka (flavorless) to maintain a softer consistency in the freezer. I have a 2 quart mixer, and this recipe almost overflows, so keep this in mind especially if you plan to add mix-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. As others mentioned, I added a little more vanilla and the taste was wonderful. Next time, I will make it the night before freezing and let it cool in the refrigerator overnight before transferring to the ice cream maker. It was too warm and churned for 1.5 hrs (and still was too soft). It was better the next day after it had hardened in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is without a doubt the alltime best ice cream I have ever made - and I've made a lot of ice cream. After reading other reviews the only thing I did differently was to double the vanilla. In addition to the wonderful taste, the texture is perfection. This is my new ice cream recipe. I seriously doubt a better ice cream recipe can ever be found. Try it - you will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was perfect for my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. I only used 1 cup of cream because that's all I had, and 3 cups of 2%. I added one more egg then called for, and a bit more sugar, too. The ice cream was indeed creamy and smooth and oh-so-good! Served with Fresh Strawberries on top. There were NO left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Didn't change a thing other than next time I will double the recipe. It was rich, creamy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I add two crushed up heath bars at the end of the cycle and let it set up in the freezer overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe! I followed the directions and it turned out perfect. So rich and creamy. The family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly with excellent results. I used the ice cream attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer. I did think it would overflow, but it did not. (It came close, though!)Update: I made it again, this time taking some of the vanilla out toward the end and adding in strawberries. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States