Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this recipe is perfect. i made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it. i did ice cream once before ad it was hard but this one is creamy. i tried it on blueberry pie, apple pie, in rootbeer and by itself and i dont know what which i like more. im about to make more tonight. next i think i will try chocolate. then raspberry chocolate chip, mint chocolate chip and when i feel like getting really creative i'll try a peanut butter chocolate chip with a caramel swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Sooo creamy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Incredible. I first made it for a cookout and I added a quart of fresh crushed strawberries. The next time I served it buffet style. Everyone agreed it was perfect without adding a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My son loves custard style ice cream so I added 2 more egg yolks and a teaspoon more vanilla.Very rich and creamy, just what we were looking for.Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was AWESOME....we loved it a bunch, we're making it again next week with apple pie for guests we have coming over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
fabulous and I can't get enough. Iserved it over peach cobbler last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've tried others..this is the only one you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gweb8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Wonderful. I doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplesun7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Turned out perfectly. It was my first time making a custard style ice cream. I wish i left it in the ice cream maker so it could set up longer i stopped it after 20 mins, i will let it go for 30 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakersman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
My son's 18th birthday party is this weekend and I promised him that I would make homemade chocolate chip ice cream to go with his chocolate chip cake. I was bored with the recipes in the booklet that came with my ice cream maker and they never tasted just right - always kind of grainy with a filmy aftertaste. So I went looking for one to use today and this one takes the cake! I modified it just a bit and doubled the recipe and here is what I used - **note this made a perfect 4 quart serving size!** 4 eggs, 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt, 4 cups of whipping cream, 2 cups of half and half, 2 cups of milk (I used 2%), 3 T vanilla, mini chocolate chips. I started by taking the sugar and the eggs and creaming them until they were thick and gooey. In a medium pan, I put all the milk and cream in and stirred it constantly. Once it was hot, I added the vanilla and the egg/sugar mixture. I continued cooking on medium heat about 15 minutes, still stirring constantly. After about 15 minutes, it will start to thicken nicely and stick to the back of the spoon. I pour my custard into a bowl and lined the top of the custard with plastic wrap before adding the lid. Let it cool for a few hours in the fridge then popped it in my Rival and started churning! I added the chocolate chips about halfway through the churning process. It took a full 40 - 45 minutes but it was perfect when it came out! I felt like I was eating an ice cream sundae fresh off of the farm! Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treehuggr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States