Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Made this last night....everyone loved it! I doubled the batch...added more pure mexican vanilla, and chopped butterfinger candy bars. I put what was left in the freezer. We had it with lunch...it was even better being in the freezer all night. My husband loves icecream..he says this is the best he's ever had! I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I thought this had excellent texture and the flavor was almost what I was looking for, but I found it to be a little too eggy for me. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly, maybe when doubled I shouldn't have doubled the eggs as well. I will still use this as my base recipe, but use only 2 eggs when I double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is the best homemade icecream ever, we've tried different recipes and the key to this is leaving in fridge over night!!!!!!!! 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious! I used 4 egg yolks instead of the 2 eggs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
AWESOME!!! I made this last night, refrigerated it overnight, and then put it in my Cuisinart ice cream maker today. I am a big custard fan, so I added an extra egg yolk. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I was a little nervous about watching for it to thicken up to the point of "coating the back of a metal spoon". However, after about 45-60 minutes in my stainless steel saucepan, it suddenly thickened up and I just knew that it was ok. I stuck a metal spoon in the mixture and it coated it like wax from a melting candle! I read the reviews about the vanilla and decided to add a full tablespoon. I also added Hershey's Dark Chocolate syrup and Reese's Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups. My husband and I thought we'd died and gone to ice cream heaven! The only thing is I may drop back the vanilla next time as it was a little bit too much for me with the dark chocolate. Also, I have a small Cuisinart so I may drop down the recipe to 9 servings, as 12 was overflowing once I added the peanut butter cups. Thanks for sharing a GREAT recipe! UPDATE: I just made a batch of mint chocolate chip Oreo. For a full batch: I still added the extra egg yolk. I chopped dark choc chips in the blender, crumbled about 15-17 Oreos, 1 tbsp vanilla, and added about 5-6 tsp on pure mint extract. Oh, and to make it green, about 25 drops of green food color. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
UNBELIEVABLE ice cream. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I would not change a thing. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
My family and I did not like the taste of this ice cream. Very eggy taste and smell. Most of the people that have reviewed this and gave 5 stars has changed the recipe in some way. We made exactly as stated. Sorry not a good taste as is. Very nice creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made this for my youngest's b-day and it was really good! Followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and heated it on medium-low whisking more and more as it got closer to temp. I might try more egg yolk next time and a better vanilla but still better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Fabulous and truly creamy! I added an additional egg (actually just an egg yolk) for added creaminess. I also added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. I went by the directions except for one thing. I cooled the mixture surrounded by ice but didn't wait for it to get really cold because I had limited time. It was slightly cold then I put it in the ice cream maker to let it get thick. After about 20 minutes I took it out and separated it into two different containers. In one, I added crumbled double stuff oreo cookies. In the other, 1/4 th cup miniature chocolate chips and 1/4 th cup Reeses peanut butter chips. Both tasted divine but if I absolutely had to pick one over the other, I'd choose the oreo cookies. It's heaven on earth! Several family members and friends tasted it and gave it rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Oh my goodness! My girlfriend came home with an ice cream freezer she found at Goodwill and wanted to try it out. So off we went to the store to get ingredients for this recipe and came home to our own little test kitchen. We followed the directions exactly, except for one minor change. We drained and added one small can of crushed pineapple to the mix. This was superb. My girlfriend is quite impressed with my kitchen abilities. Again. Our only mistake in doing this recipe is that we didn't double it. It only filled the can about 1/3 of the way up. Next time, we go for a gallon of pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States