Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is a very good recipe - the secret of which is getting really good vanilla. I recommend Madagascar Vanilla Bean Paste. It's ll cost you, but it will be worth it. Check the amount of sweetness before you refrigerate, as you loose some of it during the freezing process. Also, I recommend a candy thermometer for temperature control - it is very easy after the 175-degree mark to burn the mixture, but you will need at least that temp to get it the right thickness. Refrigerate the mixture for at least 8 hours, the colder it goes into the ice cream maker, the smaller the ice crystals - the smoother the ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
A very good, simple vanilla. I'll continue to use as my base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
OMG! Made it as directed except used 1 egg instead of 2. Just what old fashioned vanilla ice cream should taste like. My only regret is that we didn't quadruple the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The best vanilla ice cream!!! I am going to make this again and use it as the base for apple pie ice cream. I have used this as the base for cookies and cream and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is awesome! This is the first ice cream I have made that has to be cooked and I was a little worried about whether the eggs would be smooth in the mixture. Turned out wonderful. I used a whisk to keep the mixture stirring while it was cooking. We doubled the recipe for our 4-quart ice cream maker and added some fresh strawberries that I chopped and mashed a bit. The ice cream is creamy and doesn't freeze so hard that you cannot scoop it. I tried two other recipes that did not use eggs or require cooking and they did not have the creamy texture and froze so solid that they could not be scooped. Try it, and you will love it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This had a very creamy texture, but smelled strongly of eggs. I used exactly what the recipe called for, made no changes. As soon as the icecream was ready and we took the lid off, the stench of eggs was all I could smell. I didn't even want to try it, but I did. It tasted like eggs, not vanilla icecream/custard. I was very dissapointed. My family did not like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Outstanding ice cream recipe! This gets rave reviews from lifelong homemade ice cream fans. Cooking takes awhile to avoid cooking the eggs too fast but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Thank you for putting the pen to the receipe that I have been using for years, although mine was just from trial and error and it changed a little from season to season (depending on my memory) and of course I could never give the recipe to my children because I never measured anything so they always said but Mom, it doesn't taste like yours. For the people who said it takes a while to freeze, the higher the fat content, the longer it will take to freeze but that is what makes it good and creamy. Also, I would like to thank the people who made additions or changes that added the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made this recipe exactly as written. Let the custard cool for a few hours in the fridge and then made it with my cuisinart ice cream maker. If I had to rate this recipe the day I made it, I would give it 4 stars for tasting a bit too "eggy" but 5 stars for texture. However, the next day the eggy taste mellowed out and the ice cream was fabulous - more than 5 stars for sure! This is my first time making a custard based ice cream at home and I can not get over the texture of this ice cream - it is so good. This definitely goes in the "keep" pile! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! I double batch doubling everything except did 2 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks. It does do better when refrigerated overnight I think. I did 1/2 of it same day several hours later and the other 1/2 the next day with oreo. Both turned out awesome, but the next day one froze up a little better. I also love how it doesn't get rock hard. This will be my base for all flavors! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States