Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This made a nice base for our cookie dough ice cream using the cookie dough for ice-cream recipe from this site. I thought it tasted little too eggy on the first night but it was perfection the second night. I think the directions are missing the important step of tempering the egggswith the warm milk before adding them directly to the custard. Other than that this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful! I wouldn't call it ice cream ... it is more of a frozen custard. But, whatever you want to call it, it is definitely a winning recipe. Very simple to make, very rich and creamy. Exactly what we were looking for. So far this is our favorite recipe. Thank you for sharing Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this according to directions except just as I was cooling it I added 2 chopped up Dove candy bars. THIS WAS SO GOOD!! Everyone loved it. I am making it again today along with the cinnamon ice cream. I also made it without the chocolate and made the mistake of switching the measurements for the cream and half and half...it didn't set up as nicely as the chocolate where I did it correctly. Lesson learned...It was still great tasting though-it just froze harder and took longer to set up in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I slimmed it down slightly by using lowfat milk instead of half and half, but kept the whipping cream, and it was still pretty rich. I also used a real vanilla bean that I scraped out, and still used another tablespoon of extract. I can't wait to make this again. I just wish it would freeze faster so we could devour it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe came out perfectly, smooth and creamy. There are so many recipes on Allrecipes that don't require eggs, and people complain that the ice cream is hard/grainy. And that so many people don't realize is that it's the eggs that make the ice cream smooth and creamy like you like. This recipe is perfect as is. Also, if you want it to taste like Baskin Robins Vanilla use powdered sugar instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was delicious. My ice cream maker holds 1 1/2 quarts and this was just slightly too much custard for it to handle, so next time I will freeze it in halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
great base take your time and warm it up slowly stir constantly 178* and smooth as silk it is well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used this as a base recipe for a banana ice cream. I did sub. the 2 eggs with 1 egg and 3 yolks. I used 4 pureed bananas, stirred them in after cooking and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajlog78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is my go-to vanilla ice cream. I add a couple extra egg yolks and double the batch, and it disappears almost instantly every time. Great texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States