Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This ice cream is unbelieveably good. I recently cut Splenda (and therefore store-bought ice cream)out of my diet. I made this using 1\3 cup plus 1 and 1\2 tablespoons Truvia instead of the sugar. This is much better than the sugar-free ice creams from the store, and I highly recommend using Truvia in this recipe if you are looking for a healthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
a big improvement on the recipe I was using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is the perfect recipe for vanilla ice cream. We made two freezers for a family reunion. What a hit! The little bit left over was frozen and eaten later, and it was just as creamy and delicious then. Didn't get icy at all. Thanks, Mary, we're using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
this is a delicious recipe,very creamy and rich! I dont have an ice cream maker so once I began to freeze the ice cream, every 30 min I took the ice cream out of the fridge and gave it a good stir with a whisk to make sure there were no clumps of ice and it came out perfect and yummy. I also added 3 TBSN of Vanilla extract instead of 2 1/4 TBSN for a stronger vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Loved this! I used only 1 cup of 1/2 and 1/2 and the rest 1% organic milk. It was delicious. I also added fresh mashed peaches and the juice of one fresh lemon. I love what using a cooked custard does to the taste of homemade ice cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Creamy with a great texture but a little too sweet. I would prefer the sugar to be adjusted down (I'll start with a decreased amount of 1/4 c. next time and see) to better taste the vanilla. I used fresh vanilla too by scrapping a bean into the base. I also poured the base into a popsicle mold and when ready to eat I dipped an end into "Magic Shell" chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
We tried several before this one and it is far and away the best! My husband and I love peanut butter so adding a large spoon full when heating adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Very Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This made the best ice cream! I have used this recipe twice, once adding strawberries and Oreo cookies. The 2nd time I increased the vanilla just a little and added pureed strawberries. Very creamy ice cream, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very yummy... I had a vanilla bean I needed to use so I added the scrapped seeds to the cream, I used all half and half except for one 1/2 pint of whipping cream. After cooking and cooling the mixture, I added the vanilla bean pod and let it set for 24 hours before freezing using my kitchenaid ice cream attachment.. Awesome, and very creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States