Creamy Turnip With Paprika Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used 1 tbs oil and 3 tbs butter to give it more flavor. It tasted great but was a little thin. I might use 2 lbs turnips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this soup because my husband brought home a bag of turnips and I had no idea what to do with them. The first batch I made I followed the recipe exactly, except used a little less cayenne and substituted skim milk. My husband and I loved the taste of the soup but were not thrilled with the lack of texture. The next batch I made as before but left all the veggies unblended. I added the leftover pureed soup from the first batch and the result was a yummy, chunky. turnip stew. I was hooked, now! Had to go buy turnips for batch three - I increased the recipe by 1/3 so that I would have some to puree and add back to the pot. Added skim milk to the puree only, but next time I will add liquid from the pot instead so that my soup/stew will be thicker. Will definitely need salt and pepper! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Reallllly Good!!! I added 1/4 head of cabbage to the turnips and onion because I needed to use it up then followed the directions. Topped with a dollop of sour cream and the scallions. Soup is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Delicious soup. I replaced the half and half with 2% milk and it was still thick and satisfying. Next time, I will add even more paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I'm not a huge turnip fan - I'm another one with a bumper crop of turnips this year! This soup was much tastier than I expected! I used packaged French Fried onions on top instead of frying shallots. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My husband really likes turnips and I am learning to cook and eat them. We enjoyed this soup...he enjoyed it a little more than I did. I'm not sure if I used the right amount of turnips but whatever the case, this soup was extremely turnipy tasting...good, but turnipy. I used whole milk vs. the half and half and it worked nicely to thin out the puree. This was a very fragrant soup as well. My husband said he could smell it cooking while he was working outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
A great way to use turnips. The carmalizing process is very important for the overall taste. My whole family, including, my infant son, enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very tasty! I didn't have paprika, so I used 1 tsp. of generic salt-free spice blend from Penzeys (Mural of Flavor) and 1 tsp. chili powder as a substitute. I also had some green beans from my garden and added them in before blending. I used yogurt on top and dried chives which added a really nice touch. In the end, I would surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Pretty much followed the recipe as described and it came out great! Turnips have a bitter taste, so if you haven't had them before, you might not like it the first time. But once you get used to the flavor it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States