Creamy Tomato Tuna Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I didn't have any soup, so I used homemade chicken stock, a little can of tomato paste and heavy cream with a dash of onion powder. No tarragon, so I used about 1/4 c. fresh basil from the garden instead. It had so much flavor! Don't skip the anchovy, it wasn't fishy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Simple and quick to make. I didn't use the Tarragon, but followed the rest of the recipe. Even my husband who when I mentioned can Tuna was like oh I'm not going to like that. He loved it, so did my teenage son. Will defitnaly make again. Oh, and loved the kick that the red pepper flakes gave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I have to say I didn't really have high hopes for this, as I am not a huge fish person. But I do like traditional tuna casseroles, and this sounded good and different, so I gave it a go. WOW! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the tarragon. I swear I bought some, but somehow I didn't end up with it at home, so I subbed just a dash of fennel instead, which did lend a lovely flavor. This is surprisingly and amazingly delicious! The only non-condensed cream of tomato soup I was able to find was a tomato and basil variety, which was wonderful. I had 4 cups of it, so I added it all, since the only tuna in olive oil I found was in cans, and I had a little over 8 ounces of that as well. Yum, yum, yum! Will definitely be making this again and again (and will definitely make sure I get home with the tarragon next time too!). Thanks Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My husband and I loved this, but we made some substitutions along the way, mostly because we cannot afford some of the more expensive ingredients. We used a 5 oz. can of tuna in oil, substituted 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce and 1/2 tsp. soy sauce for the anchovy paste, put in two large dashes of oregano and red pepper flakes, and added a dash of paprika as well. We also used two cans of Campbell's tomato soup, which is from concentrate, so we made the soup following the directions on the can, then used 3 1/2 cups of that for the sauce, so we didn't add the additional 1/2 cup of water. We substituted pre-grated Parmesan cheese for the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and 1 tsp. marjoram for the tarragon. And to finish, we garnished it with just some of the leftover Parmesan with no red pepper flakes. And although we weren't able to make this recipe exactly how it's supposed to be, we loved what we ended up with and plan to add this recipe to our list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
My kids are 5, 7, & 8. They loved it and had seconds. It didn't taste fishy or like tuna, although my kids do like tuna. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer to use 1/2 t. worcestershire sauce and 1/2 t. soy sauce in place of anchovy paste since I didn't have any anchovy paste on hand. I also made two cans of condensed soup, following the directions for soup with milk. (I did use half cream & half milk for a richer sauce.) Then, I used about 3 1/2 cups of this soup in place of the soup and 1/2 c. water called for in the recipe. I followed the spice measurments in the sauce. When I served the pasta, I sprinkled extra oregano, salt, and chili flakes on each plate according to my kids' and husband's different tastes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a very good recipe and a nice vegetarian option. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used basil and marjoram instead of tarragon, since I didn't have any. I also used 1/2tsp soy sauce and 1/2tsp Worcestershire sauce instead of anchovy paste. Everyone I served this to liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Substituted 1/2 cup water with one 14oz can undrained diced tomatoes and added basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I had some real trouble finding the amounts in the recipe at the store, so I fudged a few things. 2 cans of tuna in olive oil came out to 9oz and the 2 cans of tomato bisque came out to 28oz and the penne was 12oz. With the extra tuna I halved the anchovy paste. In all both my DH and I loved the recipe. I also threw in a can of sweet corn and used the "veggie" penne to add some more veggie servings. Can't wait to make this for company. So quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettysoldier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Fantastic recipe! The best part is how quick and easy it is to make but still upholds a gourmet meal flavor and quality. Stick with the recipe. I followed the recommendations of the video by using tuna with jalapeno in olive oil out of the jar. It's worth the money (about $8 and can be found in any grocery store), as well as cream of tomato soup out of the box, not the can! I buy the organic kind, tastes much better than canned IMO. The only thing I changed is I leave out the anchovie paste only because I don't have it. Otherwise, it's perfect as is and delicious! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very, very good recipe. Made it according to the directions except for the fact that I could only find tuna in olive oil in 4.5 oz. cans, so I used two. Also, I can't stand not to use all of something, so I used 16 oz. of pasta and entire 32 oz. carton of cream of tomato soup. Everything else according to the original recipe. So good I'm making it again tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA
Living In: Manchaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States