Creamy Tomato Tuna Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We lived in Italy for 7+ years and this is actually a great/quick/easy recipe…for not being authentic. lol No disrespect intended. Very tasty! I look forward to seeing more recipes from this member. GRAZIE MILLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
this was very good. but i couldn't leave well enough alone as usual. i tossed in some green olives for good measure. also used home made tomato sauce instead of the canned soup, and no tarragon (don't like it). everything else remained the same. well....no water, i used evaporated milk that needed to be used up. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have made a similar recipe like this for years -- instead of the liquids/seasonings, I use a jar of spaghetti sauce -- I salute onions and garlic, add tuna, then add sauce and cheese. A staple at our house - one of my family's favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is very tasty, I didn't have fresh garlic or anchovy, or tarragon, so I used garlic powder, and wasabi (don't ask me why) and I used my left over homemade tomato soup. Excellent, nice flavors, next time I will make sure I have all the ingredients and make it as per the recipe. Easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Pleasantly surprised with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added a 1/2 cup Chardonnay instead of water and a tsp soy sauce vs. anchovy paste! Excellent dish. I happened to have everything for this recipe on a night when I had nothing else in my refrigerator. The most delicious clean up kitchen meal I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Liking both tomato soup & toasted tuna sandwiches I had high expectations for this dish but was sadly somewhat let down. Maybe my expectations were unrealistic but this dish just didn't measure up as an alternative to the real thing. It isn't that the dish is bad -- far from it -- but that it just doesn't resonate with myself or my family like I had thought. My two girls thought that it had too much tarragon in it and that that flavor came to dominate the dish. This dish was good enough that I plan on making it again for another try but will cut the tarragon in half. Hopefully we'll like it better and, if so, I'll update my review accordingly. As a final thought, though, my recommendation is to stick with the soup and sandwiches for that flavor combination instead of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I am making this for the third time-my husband and I love it, and it's quick, easy and not expensive. Thanks to Chef John I always have Pacific brand organic creamy tomato soup, low sodium version, anchovy fillets, and good quality oil packed tuna on hand so this is almost an "instant" dinner. Throw some frozen peas in with the pasta during the last 5 minutes of cooking for an extra veggie boost. You can also sub wine for the water. Tonight I'm serving it over Barilla brand spinach and cheese tortellini, since I'm out of penne. Thanks again to Chef John for clueing me in to the dry tortellini, they are delicious and handy to have around. I'll be making this with gluten-free pasta when my celiac houseguest arrives in a couple weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used tomato sauce instead of the soup and did few other minor changes. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yevgeniya Zhenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite pasta recipe. The boyfriend has been requesting it 3 weekends in a row! I used 2/3 Campbell Tomato soup, and 1/3 Campbell's Orange Harvest Tomato soup, and it came out a bit sweeter than if I had gone full Tomato soup. I definitely preferred the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jun Ong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States