Creamy Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious and rich; the basil completes this recipe-gives it body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this yesterday while we watched football and it was delicious! I didn't have any fennel or anise liqueur, so I left those out but it was a great soup. I sauteed my onions in the butter, along with some garlic, and then added it to my food processor to make it smooth. The small market by our house didn't have fresh basil, so I used dried and it came out nicely. I added a bit of sugar, also, as suggested by another reviewer. I'm not a pro at soups by any means so it was nice to try this and have it come out so well. Paired it with the obligatory grilled cheese and hello dinner (and lunch leftovers!) Very, very happy with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It's a nice flavor, but could have a thicker consistency. I think next time I'll use full cream instead of half and half. I found canned tomato with fennel, and that does give a nice roundness to the flavor. I substituted brandy for the anise, as I like the flavor profile that gives with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliem60

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Gott
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is delicious! I was given some home-grown tomatoes so blanched and peeled them. I didn't have fennel or anise, I bet those would have made it even better. I like garlic so I added some. I had three varieties of basil growing outside and used a little of each. I didn't have half and half so I used a can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Gott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
One of my favorites, added a side of Grilled cheese sandwhich, was wonderful! I did not have fresh basil so I used two tablesppons of dried/crushed...still tasted good. I also used FRESH tomatoes instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The recipe was brilliantly simple. Except for the rediculously extravagant and unnecessary "Pernod" reference as a anise flavored liqueuer ingredient when much less expensive alternates would work more than adequately, this recipe is a winner! I added two cloves or minced garlic and a quarter cup of sundries tomato to give a bit more kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I was looking for a basic tomato basil bisque to go with grilled cheese, and this one was perfect! I didn't have anise or fennel, so I made it without those and it was so yummy, so filling. Like everyone else, I cut the salt in half. Will try next time with greek yogurt instead of the half and half.(I removed the soup from the heat before adding the half and half, no problems with it curdling.) I will be making this recipe a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Yummy! Changed the recipe a bit. Caramelized the onions in the butter and deglazed the pan with dry sherry (no anise liqueur on hand). Added extra fennel and dried basil, decreased the salt to a single teaspoon of coarse sea salt, and added a bit of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. Instead of half and half, used a block of lowfat cream cheese and a cup of skim milk, and then hit it with the immersion blender. Ate it with grilled cheese sandwiches. Husband was pleased! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This bisque is absolutely delicious! I didn't have any anise liquor so used a little bit of 2% milk and it was still amazing. Easy to make and wonderful! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great soup. I didn't have any anise flavored liqueur, but I guess I didn't miss it because it was delicious. I can't wait to use this on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States