Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I did not peel the tomatoes instead I cut them in quarters and added a small can of tomato sauce for color. I also chose not to strain the soup, giving more texture on the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRADOMG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was amazing. I am on a total soup kick and was spending a lot at the store to buy tomato basil soup that wasn't as good as this one! I would definitely reccomend straining it at the end; otherwise it's too grainy. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! Especially with the classic grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoleskc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I guess my tomatoes had a lot of water in them (garden tomatoes) and I found 1 quart of chicken broth would dilute the soup too much. So I put in just the chicken broth seasoning (about one teaspoon) and one cup of milk (to replace the cream). The consistency was perfect and the taste was good, but it's probably richer and better with cream. Maybe next time I'll add 1/2 cup cream and 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Delicious! The only real change I made (besides approximating the tomatoes and basil a bit, based on what I had on hand) was that I didn't strain it at the end; it didn't seem necessary, and we didn't mind the seeds at all. :) Note: Strongly consider investing in an immersion blender!! I recently acquired one, and, having used the standard blender method for soups in the past, was AMAZED at how much easier and cleaner this was. If you like making blended soups, you won't regret it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was good, but we preferred the soup unstrained. Also, next time I am going to process before cooking...what a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I skipped the chicken stock and added cayenne pepper for spice. I froze half of it, so we will see how that comes out. It's very good, and will probably be even better this winter. A great way to use up tomatoes that may go bad (I think I put about 10 tomatoes in this recipe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I love this soup! My grandmother doesnt really like tomato soup, but even she thought this was good. I dont like blending hot liquids, so I puree the tomato and basil first and then cook as directed, then at the end, I strain it through a sieve. I also use half and half rather than heavy cream just because thats what I always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this soup in my slow cooker and served it a potluck! It was gone in an instant! I puree the tomatoes and basil before I heat it up just to lesson the clean up and hassle of pouring hot soup all over the floor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This soup is amazing! I used the recipe with the a few additions. I used approximately 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper which gives the soup a delicious kick. I also added 4 tablespoons of orange juice concentrate (in lieu of sugar+lemon juice as previously suggested). I did not strain this soup, as the texture was perfectly creamy after blending the tomatoe/chicken stock/basil mixture. Please try this soup, it is SO EASY and SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States