Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent soup, though very similar to others I've tried from this site. I think its main distinction is the addition of onion, and a good amount of it at that. It may have added extra flavor but to tell you the truth, I didn't notice an appreciable difference than those I've made without the onion. I prepared the recipe pretty closely, only adding a couple dabs of tomato paste since my tomatoes weren't as ripe as I would have liked them to be. That proved to be a great addition! Loved the flavor boost it provided. I topped each serving with an herbed crostini and fresh basil for garnish. Fresh, simple and satisfying. And pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was a success. I added and changed a few ingreidents. Family and friends beg for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This tomato soup is wonderful! The recipe is simple and easy too. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I didnt have a lot of the stuff this recipe needed, and guesstimated a lot, and it turned out incredibly!!! I used 5 tomatoes, cored but not peeled and 1 can stewed tomatoes, mostly drained. I didnt have fresh basil so just poured in a bunch of dried. Put in some minced garlic, garlic and onion powder in with the onions. Added some hot chili steak spice(it gave it a little kick), used an immersion blender and started to strain, but my mom was eating the stuff I strained out, so I thought if its that good leave it in. My mom and dad ate almost the whole pot for dinner. I got one bowl. Guess I better make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDCarleton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Delicious and savoury soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Simple and delicious! I've been making this for years and usually make a few "tweaks" (depending on what I have onhand): -----> substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth so my vegetarian friends & family can enjoy it,too! -----> I will usually use up to a full pint (2 cups) of cream or half & half. ------> occasional/optional additions: more basil ...and/or... 1 cup (or less) finely chopped baby spinach ...and/or... baby carrots, precooked until very soft ...and/or... 2 teaspoons ground nutmeg ...and/or... 2 teaspoons ground ginger ...and/or... 2 teaspoons dried tarragon ............ annnd for my favorite tweak treat: 2-3 cups grated cheddar cheese!! This soup is so good, it's adaptable to what's on hand and forgiving of what's not. My family loves every version I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by January

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I did not peel the tomatoes instead I cut them in quarters and added a small can of tomato sauce for color. I also chose not to strain the soup, giving more texture on the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRADOMG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was amazing. I am on a total soup kick and was spending a lot at the store to buy tomato basil soup that wasn't as good as this one! I would definitely reccomend straining it at the end; otherwise it's too grainy. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! Especially with the classic grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoleskc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I guess my tomatoes had a lot of water in them (garden tomatoes) and I found 1 quart of chicken broth would dilute the soup too much. So I put in just the chicken broth seasoning (about one teaspoon) and one cup of milk (to replace the cream). The consistency was perfect and the taste was good, but it's probably richer and better with cream. Maybe next time I'll add 1/2 cup cream and 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States