Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I always order this soup at restaurants and will drive across town to get it. I am so happy to know that I only have to drive to the supermarket now ;-) I altered the recipe by using canned tomatoes and I added sugar. I ended up not using as much butter as the recipe calls for and it still came out delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe I posted it on Facebook too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great soup, turned out just as planned !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I exchanged fat free half and half for whipping cream to reduce calories and fat. I also added a teaspoon of sugar to taste becuase I don't use salt in my foods. Overall it was pretty good and really really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I loved it as intstructed and also when I added cayenne pepper to it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I added a jalapeno and roasted red pepper. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie diplomacy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great flavor (I added herbes de provence and skipped the salt) but pretty watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie diplomacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this recipe to help deal with my bounty of fresh tomatoes and basil. It turned out great but I did make quite a few changes. To make the recipe more lo-cal, I used 2 T butter and 2 T olive oil which worked fine to sauté the onions with out any sticking or dryness problems. Then so many reviewers said that they didn’t like straining out all the solids, so they didn’t strain the soup. I wanted the tomato solids but not the seeds, so I peeled the tomatoes after dropping them in boiling water, then I removed the skins, and then I quartered them and seeded them. To seed the tomatoes, either remove the seeds with a spoon or gently squeeze the quartered tomatoes over the sink to remove the seeds. This takes a bit of time but then no straining is necessary. I reduced the chicken broth to 1 - 14.5 oz can so as not to dilute the tomato taste too much and I think that worked well. Also I didn’t have any heavy cream, so I used evaporated milk. Evaporated milk has a richer taste than regular milk even if you use evaporated skim milk. I have an immersion blender, so that worked very well, no scalding of myself. The resulting soup was great and my husband who doesn’t like tomato soup, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I have made this soup twice now. Once with canned tomatoes, and just this evening with tomatoes fresh from my garden. Boy what a difference. When using canned tomatoes, I would add about a tablespoon of brown sugar to cut the tartness out of the tomatoes as well as adding an extra 1/2 cup of cream. When I made it using the freshies, I didnt add anything and followed the recipe to the t. Really flavorful quick & easy soup. Oh and one more thing. Sometimes I add some white american or chedder cheese to this in the bowl when I eat it. Makes a great cheesy tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
really good, i added 1/2 tsp of sugar becuase the tomatoes tasted a bit tart. Also I added a spoonfull of cooked orzo pasta in each bowl! (this makes it good!) Also a word to the wise, if blending in a blender, Please do not put the center of the lid on, cover it with a towel instead. the heat will make the lid pop off and believe me, it is a mess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great recipe! I use whatever is on hand...if I need to add canned tomatoes, that is what goes in the pot. I also don't strain it and usually guess on quantities, adding more basil to taste, etc. Very close to my favorite restaurant's soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States