Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I added a jalapeno and roasted red pepper. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie diplomacy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great flavor (I added herbes de provence and skipped the salt) but pretty watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie diplomacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this recipe to help deal with my bounty of fresh tomatoes and basil. It turned out great but I did make quite a few changes. To make the recipe more lo-cal, I used 2 T butter and 2 T olive oil which worked fine to sauté the onions with out any sticking or dryness problems. Then so many reviewers said that they didn’t like straining out all the solids, so they didn’t strain the soup. I wanted the tomato solids but not the seeds, so I peeled the tomatoes after dropping them in boiling water, then I removed the skins, and then I quartered them and seeded them. To seed the tomatoes, either remove the seeds with a spoon or gently squeeze the quartered tomatoes over the sink to remove the seeds. This takes a bit of time but then no straining is necessary. I reduced the chicken broth to 1 - 14.5 oz can so as not to dilute the tomato taste too much and I think that worked well. Also I didn’t have any heavy cream, so I used evaporated milk. Evaporated milk has a richer taste than regular milk even if you use evaporated skim milk. I have an immersion blender, so that worked very well, no scalding of myself. The resulting soup was great and my husband who doesn’t like tomato soup, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I have made this soup twice now. Once with canned tomatoes, and just this evening with tomatoes fresh from my garden. Boy what a difference. When using canned tomatoes, I would add about a tablespoon of brown sugar to cut the tartness out of the tomatoes as well as adding an extra 1/2 cup of cream. When I made it using the freshies, I didnt add anything and followed the recipe to the t. Really flavorful quick & easy soup. Oh and one more thing. Sometimes I add some white american or chedder cheese to this in the bowl when I eat it. Makes a great cheesy tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
really good, i added 1/2 tsp of sugar becuase the tomatoes tasted a bit tart. Also I added a spoonfull of cooked orzo pasta in each bowl! (this makes it good!) Also a word to the wise, if blending in a blender, Please do not put the center of the lid on, cover it with a towel instead. the heat will make the lid pop off and believe me, it is a mess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great recipe! I use whatever is on hand...if I need to add canned tomatoes, that is what goes in the pot. I also don't strain it and usually guess on quantities, adding more basil to taste, etc. Very close to my favorite restaurant's soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this soup for a friend coming for lunch and we both truly enjoyed the flavour. I used a can of tomatoes to cut my time. I pureed the soup, but I didn't stain it so that it would be more heartier. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent soup, though very similar to others I've tried from this site. I think its main distinction is the addition of onion, and a good amount of it at that. It may have added extra flavor but to tell you the truth, I didn't notice an appreciable difference than those I've made without the onion. I prepared the recipe pretty closely, only adding a couple dabs of tomato paste since my tomatoes weren't as ripe as I would have liked them to be. That proved to be a great addition! Loved the flavor boost it provided. I topped each serving with an herbed crostini and fresh basil for garnish. Fresh, simple and satisfying. And pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was a success. I added and changed a few ingreidents. Family and friends beg for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This tomato soup is wonderful! The recipe is simple and easy too. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States