Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This one was a hit with the whole family! I meant to get this review up earlier. We actually tried it a few weeks ago. What to do with all the tomatoes from our garden? I had already made lots of spaghetti sauce and we'd eaten them in salads, so it was time for something different. This also made use of our garden's fresh basil, which was also plentiful. The result is a soup that is creamy with a delicate blend of the flavors that go into it, most notably the herbs. The batch I made was gone in 2 days. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Amazing! I just added 2 tablespoons of Tomato paste ( for a richer color), 1 tablespoon dried basil, and a little more olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusha O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My husband loved this soup, and he hates tomato soup!!! He went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Celaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Add some goldfish crackers on top and this is pretty close to the perfect tomato soup! It's a versatile recipe and after making it several times here's the slightly healthier version I settled on: use 2T olive oil and skip the butter, use milk instead of cream, add a bit of celery, add red pepper flakes and sherry, and cut the chicken broth in half. I also skip the peeling and straining steps, and replace half of the tomatoes with a quart of home-canned tomatoes when I have them on hand. Also good with cheesy toast or Yummy Garlic Croutons from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Have made several times and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. It's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Awesome tomato soup. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very, very good! I used fresh basil that I grew myself, and it was so worth it. I made it exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
awesome recipe! I had alot of tomatoes and came across this recipe. This is my first time making tomato soup and it puts canned soup to shame. The only thing i did different was add oregano and 1 orange and yellow pepper. I first roasted the peppers and then peeled the skin off. Was awesome with toasted italian bread/grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Made this last night from fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden. I choose this recipe because all it needed was tomatoes for the base. I didnt want to have to go buy tomato juice or tomato sauce when my table was covered in fresh tomatoes! It was a great way to use up the surplus. I used roma tomatoes and got most of the seeds out when cut them (i just halved them because they were small). Seeds came out easily with a swipe of my finger. Followed recipe almost exactly, except i made the broth with bullion because that is what i had at home. Turned out great. After looking at the other reviews, i tried straining some at the end, and tried it without straining. I preffered the soup not strained, it had more body to it this way and I wasnt wasting all that tomato goodness. Since I got most of the seeds out when cutting the tomatoes, there were very few in the final product without straining. Had this soup with BLT's, yummy! In my second helping i crumbled an extra slice of bacon and threw a bit of shredded cheese on top- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States